Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe twice, once as a cake last night as cupcakes both times it turned out amazing. I increased the milk to 3/4 of a cup after reading other comments and creamed the butter and sugar for around 10 minutes. I will always use this recipe now for my cupcakes and next time I will try adding cocoa powder to make a chocolate version. I will report how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I love how simple this is! However the first time I tried it, the cake didn't have much body to it. So instead of a 1/2 cup milk I put 1/4 milk and a 1/4 sour cream. It came out so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I don't understand the negative comments. This recipe is very easy and makes a very moist, fluffy and tasty white cake. At the last minute, I decided to add some chocolate to the batter. It just came out of the oven and I already ate a couple of generous slices. You can serve with fruit, ice cream. I didn't even worry about frosting it. No need. I will be making this again! (Unfortunately I can't post a nice picture of it. Allrecipes doesn't let me to... too much resizing and nothing works) Oh well. There goes the review, at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIAEDGAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Perfect for frosting or as strawberry shortcake. Made as stated but there are endless possibilities with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I did add more milk and vanilla as suggested by others. Also replaced 2tbls of flour per cup with corn starch to make it cake flour. Was soooo yummy will be my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawny&Dominic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I tried the recipe w/ the help of the most helpful critical review....w/ 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract, 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, 1/2 cup almond milk & 1/4 cup of sweet vanilla creamer. It was the best vanilla cake I've ever had. I poked holes in it and poured a glaze over it using, 2TB butter, aapproximately 1 cup of confectioner sugar, half teaspoon of vanilla extract and about a teaspoon of water... yes water. It tasted like a lite twinky! Will try again but will make it a rum cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Flowers

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I followed ingredients exactly and then added lavender to the batter. I also topped with homemade powdered sugar icing. This is a great 'canvas'cake for any kind of cake you would like to bake! I will use this again when make a rainbow cake or cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made cupcakes with this recipe tonight, and although I always tweak recipes, and I did this one a bit, this is THE best vanilla cake ever. Try it and then try a box cake and you can actually taste an after taste with the box cake! I doubled the recipe so I could make 24 cupcakes, and I had enough batter to fill three miniature loaf pans as well. I increased the vanilla to 1 TBLSP (2 TB) and the milk to 3/4 C (1 1/2). This will be my white cake from now on. Now to find a frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made this for my sons birthday party and despite following all the directions it came out dry. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I put the extra 1/4 cup of milk and used country crock instead of butter because it happened to be in my fridge. It was delicious. I am not an avid baker but I am picky. It was light and fluffy and tasty. I had company It is almost all gone. I put orange frosting on it with dried cranberries and strawberries. It was totally awesome. Iwas impressed with how delicious it was due to thereviews about it being heavy and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States