Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I read a good amount of the reviews on this cake, so I was pretty sure the end result would be one of two things. It was either going to taste like a sugar cookie or cornbread. I was hoping for sugar cookie, but I got cornbread, even though the cake smelled like a sugar cooke! I don't get it. My husband thought it tasted like a pancake. Regardless, I won't be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This cake was really good! The taste was perfect and the texture was amazing. I made it for my sisters birthday, and all she did was complain that "it's not moist", but that just means more for me! I think it was really moist and was eaten up really quick. Her loss, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Tastes good, however, its not a white cake recipe, its yellow cake, and to make it a white cake, the yolks are to be removed from egg whites and thrown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna divinci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I just got done icing these cupcakes. I should have added extra milk like others suggested. They were very dry and dense but tasted alright. Won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I baked this cake with my grandchildren. They hated it. But it's all good yo. I liked it. The cake reminded me of myself. In my younger years that is. All fresh and new, but somewhat fragile. MmmmmMMMmmmmMmMMMmMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
So simple, so easy, so delicious. I made cupcakes and chocolate frosting with this recipe, but plan on using this as a base for many other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
:( Came out extremely flat, not fluffy at all. Not sure why this was such a fail: I guess I didn't beat enough at each step! However, I will be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made cupcakes out of this recipe and liked it very much. My whole family loved it. The problem with making any cake is not to overbeat it. When you add your flour and other ingredients and you keep beating it then the cake becomes tough and dry. When I make breads like pizza as well as sandwich bread I do not use a mixer but I do it by hand so as to get the feel of it because that too becomes dry and tough overmixing. This is a good cake and good for cupcakes. Thank you to the person who posted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My friend doesn't even line cake made the cupcakes he tore them up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosaleigh Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I am reviewing this recipe as written with the caveat that I live at altitude. I make a recipe as written before I adjust for altitude. Some work and some do not. This one did not for cupcakes. That being said, the flavor was amazing...they really do taste just like sugar cookies. I am going to decrease the baking powder. I also think that this recipe makes more than 12 cupcakes. It's more like 15 regular cupcakes. I will make again with adjustments and suspect I'll love it and will change my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States