Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Awesome! Perfect white cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I used this recipe after a different recipe failed. I liked it, and paired it with White Cake Frosting II on here. No adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana Zinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Perfect white cake recipe! I needed a simple cake to go with the fresh strawberries I had. This recipe turned out perfect, however, I did not have milk on hand so I used one cup of sour cream instead of milk. EXCELLENT! Very light and fluffy, not too sweet, perfect for the berry topping (fresh berries mixed with a little powdered sugar) after frosting this single layer 9-inch cake with some cream-cheese frosting. Add whipped cream on top for the perfect finish. This will be my new birthday cake recipe. Love It.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Came out a little dryer than I was wanting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I must agree with most of the reviews I read that the taste is a little bland, even after adding an additional 3 teaspoons of almond extract. The texture was dense, but I actually used this recipe to test my new cake pop maker so perhaps it also has to do with that. After the first batch of cake pops (7 pops) was done I added 1/4 cup of dried coconut powder, 1 tsp of cononut extract, 1tsp cinnamon to the remaining batter and it was a mayor taste improvement. Like this the cake pops took much longer to cook though. FYI I got a total of 21 cake pops out of the whole recipe. I would use this recipe again using additional flavoring and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I tried this cake today and it turned out to be great.I added choco chips in the batter and it gave a different taste and look altogether. The ingredients are simple & a easy cake to bake for the beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I am always looking to try other cake recipes and This was a okay recipe for a "white cake" To me it tasted to much like corn bread and the dense of the cake was a little on the drier side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I did what one reviewer said--to use 3/4 cup milk, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1T vanilla, and to use cake flour, or make your own cake flour. I love the results! I used this recipe to make 6 mini-bundt cakes and it filled all 6 in the pan perfectly, with no cake batter left over. The cakes came out very light and fluffy with a great vanilla taste. I will definitely keep this recipe for all of my future cake endeavors. To make your own cake flour, use 1 cup all purpose flour, remove 2T of it & put it back into your flour canister, then add 2T of corn starch. Sift 5 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
"That cake is killer," is what hubs said, after eating about one fourth of it as blueberry shortcake. I made it exactly as prescribed in the recipe, with the one addition of 1/2 tsp. of salt. I also used salted butter. It is magnificent, really! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States