Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Great recipe! So versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I made this tonight, and it was my first attempt at making a cake from scratch. It turned out awesome, and I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
After searching for a basic white cake in this site for several days I decided to make this one because it was only basic ingredients, easy and It has plenty of great reviews. I was even excited to try this. I can't even describe how dissapointed I am from this cake. I did this cake exactly as is stated, didn't ommitted or added any ingredient and I'm SURE I didn't Over-mixed or over-baked the batter. Technically the cake flavor is somewhat sweet and "acceptable" but the texture omg it's very dry. Dry at the point I drowned a piece of this cake in pinnaple preserves to eat it. I'm definetely not making this cake again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I made these cupcakes a while ago and they were delicious! I melted my butter until it was liquid and did everything by hand so it did take more work for me but was absolutely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Incredibly bland and DRASTICALLY needs salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made this recipe the first time, the cake ended up really dry and dense, (thinking it was my fault) I tried again in cupcake form, and same problem. I did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Simply delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I have NEVER made a cake from scratch before...so when my husband's birthday rolled around I had forgotten to get a cake mix at the store. Then I found this recipe and tried it out (apprehension was getting the best of me) i hadn't noticed that it was for a 9x9 pan and ended up putting it ina 13x9 pan...oops:) it turned out womderful however...could be a bit fluffier in my opinion but i'd chaulk it up to not beating ingredients enough...my husband was soo impressed and actually said it reminded him of his Grandmother's baking(HUGE COMPLIMENT)...i'm defiantly keeping this in my recipe box. Thx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was my first time actually making this cake. The cake finished baking before the time was up. The cake was sort of bouncy, similar to a sponge. The batter was good, and especially the few crumbs that stuck to the pan. This recipe made two cakes in round pans. It was sweet and not bad. Out of being dry and moist I'd say it was in between. It was moist but not too moist and not too dry. Like Jillian I should've added ice cream. The icing I chose was ok with it but it was my first time making it too. The cake plus the icing I had was on the sweet side. This cake would've seemed nice with the Jif hazelnut moca cappuccino in it to have another flavor. I think I would make this again but with a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States