Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
We love this cake! I have made it 5 or 6 times now! I also substituted flours and made 2 kick butt gluten free cakes! Its soooo yummy! I doubled the vanilla:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Truesdale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
This cake turned out sooo good. It is the first cake I have made from scratch that turned out moist. I read a lot of other reviews first (thank you!) and made a couple changes and I have a couple of tips. I had doubled the recipe to make a round layer cake, but I substituted in shortening for half of the butter. I beat the shortening, butter, and sugar for 10 minutes straight. I added each egg one at a time, and beat each of the eggs in for 2 minutes, and then an additional 2 after the vanilla. I used cake flour instead of all purpose and I sifted it twice with the baking powder and a quarter teaspoon of salt (remember its doubled). Finally, I used heavy whipping cream instead of milk, and did add a quarter cup extra (for the double recipe). This cake may give me diabetes, but it is moist and incredibly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Sella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
I made this cake with Gluten Free Flour for a friend B-Day......IT WAS AMAZING!! I used a "Cup by Cup" flour and I doubled the recipe and made it into a bunt cake... I would tell ANYONE with any cooking experience to make this cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
I followed all the instructions, and the cake turned out pretty bad. It tasted like baking soda. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudineia Souza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
I didn't make any intentional changes, however I used cane sugar instead of white sugar and my daughter and I made a few swirls with food coloring. It came out a bubbling pan of liquid sugar. : ( Did I mess it up by using cane instead of white sugar? And I just realized my baking powder is expired, would that have effected it too? This was my first ever attempt at baking a cake from scratch and I'm eager to do it again as soon as I pick up more butter and the proper sugar, if that in fact was the issue. Thanks for any feedback! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teirra
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
Only changes, I used margarine instead of butter and used 3/4 cup milk. Definitely beat the eggs very well. I then made a cream cheese frosting and I must say the moment I took a bite I fell in love! I will definitely make this again. So amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teirra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
Added double the amount of vanilla and used 18% cream instead of milk. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
First time in many years making cake, so I chose this one and paired it with a strawberry cream cheese frosting for my daughters bday tomorrow. It turned out perfect! Light and fluffy, and not heavy and dense. Great for the summer time on the hot days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Pretty good. I added a pinch of salt and instead of just 1/2 I added 1 1/4 milk to it. I was like the others very skeptical when it comes to following recipes from the net. This one I tried to bake because my family wanted to eat one. I red all the reviews first because, they mostly tell their experiences with making the finished product. I agreed to most of you as I have a small knowledge when it comes to baking cakes. I added some more ingredients like the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nor Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
Horrible!! Taste like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States