Simple White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2000
This was my very first time baking bread and I just followed the recipe (normally I suck at pastry making of any kind) and voila! I feel like I am queen bread maker...my family raved on and on about how good it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
Beautiful and delicious, quick and easy, and very flexible. Sometimes I use honey, instead of sugar, sometimes a wheat mixture, instead of white,most of the time I don't use the milk at all. Very enjoyable and convenient and baking and freezing one loaf until later in the week (delicious when thawed) keeps my family in bread daily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2000
I have been baking bread since I was 10 years old a total of 36 years and this is the best recipe I have ever used!! Thanks All Recipies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2000
I have tried quite a few white bread recipes, but this was the best. I used "fast action"/"quick rise" yeast and after kneading, shaped each loaf and put in the loaf tins to let rise for 1 hour and then straight into the oven. Worked really well - will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
As an experienced baker and kind of a bread snob, I am happy to admit that this recipe makes a delicious loaf of bread! Simple it most definitely is, and very easy too--especially if you have a stand mixer and dough hook. I used one loaf to make Thanksgiving stuffing and the other for sandwiches and snacking. The crust, as others have noted, is awesome. I use olive oil instead of vegetable oil and half the amount of honey instead of white sugar. What a great recipe--thanks, George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
i love it! it's tasty, and i added some roasted garlic (it gets soft and you can knead it in before you put it in the loaf pans) and cheddar cheese chunks. it's perfect for a stew or soup, or sandwhiches, it's just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
It takes some work, I use my Kitchenaide, then finish by hand because it wont fit in my bread maker, but it is so good, I haven't used by bread maker since I have found this recipe, or another bread recipe. Everyone that has tried my bread has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Our fav. recipe. We make pepperoni rolls, add extra sugar and make cin. rolls, slice and add butter with garlic and cheese then toast in the oven to have w/dinner. Or, we love it alone warm from the oven. Unlike some homemade breads, this recipe keeps well and doesn't dry out quickly,(not that it ever lasts long). I have shared this recipe many, many times. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Very tastey recipe, this was my first attempt at making homemade bread since I was in juniour high and it came out really well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Just sliced my first loaf and it is delicious! The texture is wonderful and it was so easy to make using my KitchenAid mixer. I highly recommend this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States