Simple White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ccampbell23
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Perfect. Simple. Easy. This is a wonderful, regular white bread loaf. I halved the recipe to make one loaf, and it was awesome. I can't wait to make more, and maybe experiment with it a bit. Loaf was finished cooking in the exact amount of time suggested. Came out beautiful! Couldn't ask for better. I made a sandwich out of the first two pieces I cut... using leftover turkey from Easter dinner (we have turkey and ham) and it blew the doors off of any store bought bread I have used in the past. Thanks so much for the recipe, and for all the commenters who make it easy for a new cook like me to have some confidence in these recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
All time go to recipe now. Easy and fast. I make the recipe twice and end up with 3 loaves of bread for the week and a dozen rolls for sandwiches or hamburgers. It makes great garlic toast and sandwiches as well as awesome French Toast. I followed the directions to a point and then went by touch when it came to kneading and adding the last of the flour to the dough. Smooth and elastic is what you are looking for...not sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Good flavor and makes great sandwich rolls, which is what I wanted. I halved the recipe and ran through the dough cycle of my bread maker, using exactly 3 1/2 cups flour. PERFECT dough texture! At the end of the cycle, I turned out onto floured board and kneaded about one minute. Cut into 8 parts and shaped rolls, placing them on a greased (shortening) cookie sheet. Let rise 40 minutes, and baked at 375 for 17 minutes. I did not butter tops before baking, but next time I'll brush with butter or egg. Nice soft roll -- will be great for sandwiches! Thank you. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I cut this recipe in half and used this recipe with king arthurs white whole wheat flour and added some spinach, basil and sun dried tomato. I shaped it in the form of a baguette and baked on a cookie sheet. Though I didnt make this exact bread- overall it was the same recipe and my creation turned out quite good! I look forward to making this bread just as directed as well. I think this is a good basic recipe for customizing and will use it again for future creations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandanicole82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Very tasty, simple, basic white bread recipe! My family really enjoyed it. This is one of the easiest recipes to make as well, it's very hard to mess it up! Thanks for sharing the recipe...it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
As an experienced baker and kind of a bread snob, I am happy to admit that this recipe makes a delicious loaf of bread! Simple it most definitely is, and very easy too--especially if you have a stand mixer and dough hook. I used one loaf to make Thanksgiving stuffing and the other for sandwiches and snacking. The crust, as others have noted, is awesome. I use olive oil instead of vegetable oil and half the amount of honey instead of white sugar. What a great recipe--thanks, George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Just sliced my first loaf and it is delicious! The texture is wonderful and it was so easy to make using my KitchenAid mixer. I highly recommend this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Wonderfully easy recipe! I use my Kitchen Aid, starting with the paddle and finishing with the dough hook. Makes great garlic rolls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Great recipe! The bread is delicious and it is also a good base for other bread creations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
When I follow the recipe everything turns out but the sides of the loaves are not fully baked and they collapse when I put them on racks. What am I doing wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States