Simple Waldorf Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Whoa - Holy Mayonnaise Batman! Good basic recipe, but the quantities are way off. You can always add more, but it's hard to take away. Try 1/4 c mayo (you can add more to taste), (1/4 cup yogurt optional), 1TBL white or cider vinegar OR 3/4 TBL lemon juice, 2 apples (skin on, cut bite-size), 2 celery stalks diced, 1/2 cup raisins (can be dark, white or combo either as they come or plumped in microwave), 1/2 cup shelled or chopped walnuts, raw or white sugar to taste (1/8 tsp and a time), salt and pepper to taste (little needed at this point, and can skip entirely).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe but maybe I put too much vinegar in - I didn't care for the recipe. *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I've made Waldorf Salad using Marzetti's Cole Slaw Dressing in place of the mayo and vinegar. Gives it a different, very pleasing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I wish I had read the other reviews first. This was a tasty salad, but would have been better with sugar, extra apples/celery, and apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Just made this for my family, it was okay and I think everybody liked it. It was a nice change from a typical "salad".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
For all of you who changed this recipe: the only thing wrong here is there is no need to add vinegar. otherwise it is a perfectly normal Waldorf salad. I think it could be only in America that someone would add cranberries to a waldorf - this salad was invented by a chef at The Waldorf in New York for goodness sake. you can't add cranberries and call it a Waldorf salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VivM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
It's ok. Normally, cider vinegar or lemon juice is used. I made the recipe with half the distilled vinegar and it still seemed strong. I added 1 TBL oj to compensate. Leave the apple peel on, it adds color and texture. I prefer Waldorf Salad II submitted by Penny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very simple and delicious. I used two red delicious apples and 1/2 cup of celery. I also added 1/2 cup of red grapes halved. When it came to the dressing I whisked 1/4 cup mayo, 1/4 c. Miracle whip, 1/2 tsp. of white sugar, and 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. of cider vinegar vs white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
reduced vinegar to 1 T and used 2 t sugar. Used about 3 apples, dried cranberries and pecans because that's what I had around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States