Simple Waldorf Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe but maybe I put too much vinegar in - I didn't care for the recipe. *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I've made Waldorf Salad using Marzetti's Cole Slaw Dressing in place of the mayo and vinegar. Gives it a different, very pleasing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I wish I had read the other reviews first. This was a tasty salad, but would have been better with sugar, extra apples/celery, and apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Just made this for my family, it was okay and I think everybody liked it. It was a nice change from a typical "salad".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
For all of you who changed this recipe: the only thing wrong here is there is no need to add vinegar. otherwise it is a perfectly normal Waldorf salad. I think it could be only in America that someone would add cranberries to a waldorf - this salad was invented by a chef at The Waldorf in New York for goodness sake. you can't add cranberries and call it a Waldorf salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VivM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
It's ok. Normally, cider vinegar or lemon juice is used. I made the recipe with half the distilled vinegar and it still seemed strong. I added 1 TBL oj to compensate. Leave the apple peel on, it adds color and texture. I prefer Waldorf Salad II submitted by Penny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very simple and delicious. I used two red delicious apples and 1/2 cup of celery. I also added 1/2 cup of red grapes halved. When it came to the dressing I whisked 1/4 cup mayo, 1/4 c. Miracle whip, 1/2 tsp. of white sugar, and 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. of cider vinegar vs white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
reduced vinegar to 1 T and used 2 t sugar. Used about 3 apples, dried cranberries and pecans because that's what I had around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I followed TYRIX16 suggestions. In a nutshell: I doubled the celery and apple in this recipe and left out the walnuts (had none on hand). I mixed the sugar and vinegar, then as I chopped the 2 apples I tossed them in the mixture to keep them from browning. Then added the celery and plumped raisins. Then the mayonnaise sparingly to cover the ingredients. No need for salt or pepper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States