Simple Waldorf Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was very good and we both ate two helpings. It is a little tart especially if you don't use sweet apples. We enjoy sweet tart crisp apples (Cameos). I used lemon juice instead of vinegar, dried cranberries instead of raisins, and pecans instead of walnuts. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
It's a big hit! Tried and shared this recipe on my husbands birthday and everybody's loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Know it's not a true Waldorf but my husband can't eat walnuts so I always have to substitute with pecans (works for us) However I go a furher step and add a tin of well-drained chunk tuna for a summer lunch that has everything. Nestled into a lettuce leaf it's a full meal and my family and friends thinks it's great. As I say not a true Waldorf but if you want a meal that pleases and has a great taste try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I've never tried this w/vinegar before. I've always used equal parts of miracle whip & cool whip. Sweet, but a little tang to it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
My mom made Waldorf Salad when I was a child. Everything is the same except she used Miracle Whip and no vinegar. It always came out just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This is always an easy salad. Also as a thought, take the ingredients and use them in your Chicken Salad. It is a favorite whenever I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Delicious. My family does not like raisins so I used halved grapes. Would share recipe with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I substituted 1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon juice for the 2 1/2 tablespoons of vinegar and added more apples. The salad turned out wonderful, not sour at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cabin cat
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Loved this. Plumped the raisins in some screamin hot water while I prepped the rest of ingredients. Used an extra apple, leaving some bright red skin for color and added one more stalk of celery. When serving, I added a few grinds of fresh cinnamon just because I wanted to :) Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabin cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Whoa - Holy Mayonnaise Batman! Good basic recipe, but the quantities are way off. You can always add more, but it's hard to take away. Try 1/4 c mayo (you can add more to taste), (1/4 cup yogurt optional), 1TBL white or cider vinegar OR 3/4 TBL lemon juice, 2 apples (skin on, cut bite-size), 2 celery stalks diced, 1/2 cup raisins (can be dark, white or combo either as they come or plumped in microwave), 1/2 cup shelled or chopped walnuts, raw or white sugar to taste (1/8 tsp and a time), salt and pepper to taste (little needed at this point, and can skip entirely).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States