Simple Vinegar Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I think this is the first time I have ever given just one star and I hated to do it but I have to be honest. For my family, meat is so expensive we don't get beef often at all so when I splurged on some round steak, which even at one of the toughest cuts is still $7 a pound, I wanted to find a new recipe to try. I could have just cried that I didn't trust the reviews and literally threw away nearly twenty bucks worth of steak on this horrible recipe. I am pretty good at salvaging almost any cooking mistake but the vinegar had just ruined this. Please heed the reviews and skip this one! I think a mix of balsamic vinegar and beef broth may have saved it but too late for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
not saying that vinegar doesn't tenderize steak,it is not to taste like vinegar after it is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Noble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Balmorhea, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
There wasn't enough breading and it didn't stick very well. I kept having to shove it really hard and then move it around a lot, trying to fill in where it missed. In the end, it just ended up all blotchy and not covered. It also fell off easily when turning the steak over. So it's not exactly that I couldn't eat it, or even that it had too strong a vinegar taste. It was just a lot of work for something that didn't turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
As a vinegar fan, this struck up my curiousity, and I thought it was going to be good...I was wrong. Will never be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I went against my better judgement and made this in spite of the bad reviews. I have to agree with everyone else. I gave it one star instead of zero because it was edible. I got it down; I just didn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Danielsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
My husband, who is the least picky eater in the world and who has been very patient with my attempts to try new things, did not enjoy this. We made Hamburger Helper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
my family did not like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
my mother always marinated round steak with vinegar and garlic very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States