Simple Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by erin
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made a vegetarian version. No turkey. Added 2 sweet potatoes, and a bell pepper. Replaced 1 cup of water with 1 cup of beer for more flavor. Was a major hit with even the meat eaters :) so good 2 days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
It was a great recipe, my son and boyfriend loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I tried this chili last night in the crockpot. I did tweak it as well; I sautéed the onions and garlic in the olive oil, then added the ground turkey. I cut out the water, and used 1 cup of chicken stock and two tins of kidney beans, red and white for color. I added cinnamon, Montreal Chicken Seasoning, hot sauce, lemon juice and chopped red peppers. This chili was delicious, and had some spicy kick to it! I will definitely be making this again and it is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I thought this recipe was pretty good, would be five stars but I felt it was necessary to add a few extra ingredients. I added black beans in addition to the kidney beans. I also felt it was unnecessary to mash the beans, but to each their own. I also added corn (if you are a true chili fan this is probably a sin but I really like corn). It is very spicy so if you don't like spicy food or find them hard to handle I would suggest cutting down on some of the spices. Although I did add one Jalapeno to the recipe before I knew how spicy it would be because I like extra heat. Even with the extra heat my father and I enjoyed it, fortunately my mother was out of town because she cannot handle spicy food and this would have been too much. Serve with cheese, sour cream, onions, jalapenos, etc. Tastes good the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unicornsexist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I made 2 very minor changes to the recipe, I used dried minced onion instead of fresh (food allergy) and, being from Kentucky, it's not chili without spaghetti, so I threw a small handfull in right at the end. A couple of notes. This was a touch on the spicy side for us, when I make this again, I will make a double batch, and double everything EXCEPT the spices. Also, I was on the fence about adding the spaghetti at the end, but my chili was still very runny and hadn't thickened up much. That small amount of pasta did the trick and it was a much thicker consistancy after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Great recipe. This is an easy one to use if you want to play with ingredients also. Like another reviewer, I used black beans (put half in whole and mashed the other half). I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh and added one diced and roasted sweet potato. The sweet potato cooked while I got the other ingredients going. Really good and simple..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Krieger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Changes: black beans, garlic powder - all I had. Added carrots, used red onion instead of white and doubled the cumin (preference) I started simmering the tomatoes and beans while I sauteed the onion in the Olive oil then added the ground Turkey. I seasoned the turkey with the spices and then transferred to tomato and bean summer. Absolutely delicious. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dj7
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Loved this recipe! Didn't change anything, I just doubled it to make enough for all the fam. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Nothing brings the family outside to our remote camp like this chili in the dead of winter. We have spent many a night huddled together in the cold enjoying bowl after bowl after bowl of this intoxicating meal. All we can talk about for hours at a time is the rich flavor of this life tasting extraordinary meal, each bite with subtle hints of hope. Before we found solace in the bold original taste of this chili, we would fear for ourselves in the dark. Add 7 bulbs of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Great base recipe! I added chopped celery, red pepper and carrots. My husband is not a big veggie guy, but loved this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States