Simple Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This chili was great! I didn't mash the kidney beans because I didn't think I needed to and it turned out just like regular chili. Little spicy for me, but still fantastic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
My son loves this. I use black beans, and a little less garlic, and add about a cup of pureed vegies for added nutrients (cauliflour and carrots) and to thicken it up a little. We like it thicker so I also don't add as much water. Throw it all in the crock pot and let it stew - easy, yummy winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
The taste was good for the recipe but two tablespoons of chili powder made this dish almost inedible! My husband and I found the dish so incredible hot. Would recommend two teaspoons not tablespoons of chili powder. Very easy recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Simple yet very good. I made mine in the slow cooker on low for 8 hours and an extra big can of Bush's chili beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very easy. A nice spicy, but could have used a more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great recipe and would make it again. However, recipe said it made 8 servings so doubled recipe to serve 8 adults. 8 adults barely got 1 cup of chili with no room for seconds for everyone. Good thing we had two batches of cornbread and toppings! Was disappointed that 1/2 cup was considered a serving size for a chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Delicious chili! I made a few changes; substituted paprika with turmeric, switched out 2 cups of water with 1 cup of chicken broth, added 1-1/2 lbs of chopped turkey breast, and put a bit more cayenne in since I love a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Soooo tasty and filling with a green salad and artisan bread. Everyone likes it, and so nice that it's good for you as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was awesome. I ended up using black beans because that's what I had and ALL of my family liked it. I mean "scraping their bowls, ummm this is yummy mommy" liked it. The kicker is that 3 of my kids don't even eat black beans and 1 doesn't eat ANY TYPE of bean, and he was the first one to say that it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Pretty good and that's a tall order to fill with me since I grew up in New Mexico, land of the awesome New Mexican and Mexican food! I would give it about a low to almost medium rating on the spice scale so I'd add more or less cayenne pepper to accommodate (or do the typical add salsa of whatever heat you prefer). I also used a 10oz Ro*Tel can of diced tomatoes+green chilies for half of the crushed tomatoes because I'm a green chili fanatic. For the remaining 18oz I crushed my own tomatoes. It's easy and can save you some money -- Just concassé some tomatoes if you like a slightly smoother texture to your chili (cut an X in the core and take a knife or spoon to make a circle around the X so you can connect it all and pull the core out, blanch the tomatoes in hot water into cold, and then cut in half and squeeze out seeds with your hand) or chop them into chunks with the skin still on if you prefer more chunky. Gradually heat the tomato gently to no higher than about medium heat in a pot and mash them with a wooden spoon or spatula until they're crushed (but not too mushy or else you'll get a paste). Finally I added a dash of Jack Daniel's Honey Smokehouse barbeque sauce to give it a smoky chipotle flavor and if I'm being gracious on my calorie count that day, a dallop of fat-free sour cream on top for garnish :) Could also easily add shredded cheese/green onion too. Chili is one of those things that just gets better with age as the spices continue to blend, mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boy-ar-YUM :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States