Simple Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Jenn loves cooking
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Easy recipe, added a few extra healthy items to batch; more vegetables, baby carrots, white corn, and broccoli, 4-varieties of beans, northern white beans, red kidney beans, pinto beans, and black organic beans, extra cayenne, one table spoon of hot sauce, chopped red peppers , 1 tbsp. lemon juice, and 2 oz green mild chiles. Cook 1 hour. Add corn bread and brine long grain organic rice, Trader Joes One minute rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I love tis recipe. It's the one and only chili recipe I will ever use. But i do not like spicy food so I cut the chili powder down to 2 teaspoons only, I skip the black pepper entirely and I add just a couple shakes of chipotle pepper. I do make a couple modifications. I add trader joes fire roasted pepper and onion mix (frozen section) and a 4 oz can of mild fire roared diced chilis. Him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Great basic chili recipe! First time trying turkey chili and I may never go back. Did have a few of my own changes... 86'd the water bc I like my chili more hearty (Although if you like it more soupy Id recommend using chicken broth instead of water). Seasoned the ground turkey w/ Italian seasoning and added onion and minced garlic to it when meat was about 3/4 cooked. I also added a small can of tomato sauce (8oz) and a large fresh tomato (diced) bc I wanted chunks of tomato. Changed the chili powder to 2teaspoons not tablespoons- I felt like two tablespoons would've overpowered the other spices. Simmered for 1 hr instead of 30 minutes, served with cornbread and we loved it!! Excited for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I loved it! But you need to add more vegetables to make it more hearty/ meal like... we added green bell pepper, can of chilies, zucchini, and jalapeno pepper to kick up the spice and make it more lean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Healthy and tasty. 2 things I add to the original recipe: 1. the liquid from the beans. Helps to thicken and add taste. 2. small/medium can of chopped or diced green chiles. unfortunately, I also leave out the cayenne due to my wife's low heat tolerance--though I put it in if she's not having any :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Very easy to make and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is my go-to turkey chili recipe, and it is FANTASTIC. I do follow the advice of some other users, but even so, it's a great recipe from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Bland, completely and utterly bland. Tried to fix it by adding double of all spices suggested but all to no avail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Despite it's simplicity, this is by far the best Turkey chili recipe I've tried. I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed (I like the lighter tomato flavor and the large tomato chunks) and I left the beans in tact (I did not mash them). My husband asks me to make this every week. It's just spicy enough to make it perfect for everyone in our family. I love to serve it with a dollop of fat free greek yogurt on top and a sprinkling of chopped cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great gluten-free basic recipe to put in the crock pot after browning meat; I used an extra can of tomato in place of water and it just fits in the pot, which I love. Had a few "leftover" fresh mini sweet peppers so I threw those in too along with canned Chipotle peppers (chopped) which adds a smoky flavor, but is super spicy so start with one, then wait 1/2 hr before adding more. I served with shredded sow mozzarella cheese(Trader Joes) chopped onion, cilantro, tomato, olive & black corn chips. Huge hit, low fat, gluten-free! Also, Made same recipe vegan with Trader Joe's Vegan ground beef; you need 2 paks, follow same directions, comes out great, and use the soy cheese to serve, vegan heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States