Simple Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This wasn't the worst chili I've ever tasted but it definitely wasn't one of the better ones either. I found it to be really bland and that's after I doubled the cumin, and added some coriander, onion powder, garlic powder, red chili flakes, a bay leaf, AND left out the water. The amount of spicy-ness was good and texture was good (thankfully I left out the extra water!), but that's really it. Chili is supposed to be flavorful and thick, not taste like a tangy, watery meat sauce with beans! Next time I'd probably double all of the spices, maybe even triple them! This was just not a winner for me at all, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is a good, easy, quick and healthy chili. Will definitely make again. Only things I did different: sauteed the garlic and onions first, then added the turkey meat. I didn't mash the beans. I also added frozen corn. It was delish and makes a nice big batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryn Osborne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Awesome! So awesome I couldn't stop eating it and went completely off of my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Lopez
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Great recipe. Made this and it was huge hit! However, next time I will only add 1/2 cup water, since it came out real watery. Also since did not have red kidney beans on hand, used 1 can of fat free refried beans & added 2 chopped green peppers! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferryal Lackey
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was my first time making chili, and it was a success! I ended up using whole kidney beans and cooking it down a bit longer because I found it to be a touch watery, but my whole family loved it. Super easy to make and had enough for leftovers for lunch the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Followed the recipe, but it came out very bland and watery. Maybe it would be better to use tomato sauce instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was great, but I did make some changes, to tailor it to our taste. I added a tble of coco powder and sugar, also a splash of Worcestershire, I left out the water and used 3 cans of tomato sauce/diced tomatoes. I did not add onion or cayenne. I also used 2 cans of beans, did not smash any. I will use a little less chili powder next time as it was still a little spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have never made chili with water added. I tried it anyway and it is more like chili soup. Don't like the soupiness of it but the rest is a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Best turkey chili simple ever! But do NOT add water to the recipe! It just decreases the wonderful flavor. You can always add a bit of water at the end if you like. I don't add the cayenne pepper. My kids don't like the chili if it is too spicy. Do add one chopped onion to the recipe but make it a large sized onion. Got a few extra minutes? Include half a diced pepper and one grated carrot in the ingredients. The chili will be even better! I've never signed in as a member to any recipe site before, but I just had to tell you to try this chili. You won't be disappointed. Just don't add the water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This recipe was great. I used all the required ingredients, and some of my own without following the exact measurements. All seasoning should be done to your taste, i also added a LITTLE SUGAR for some sweetness and all the spices came together. Chile is a dish that should come together according to your taste buds, don't you agree? Excellent response from my family, they ate the whole pot. Don't forget the Cheese and sour cream on top enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layummy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States