Simple Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I made 2 very minor changes to the recipe, I used dried minced onion instead of fresh (food allergy) and, being from Kentucky, it's not chili without spaghetti, so I threw a small handfull in right at the end. A couple of notes. This was a touch on the spicy side for us, when I make this again, I will make a double batch, and double everything EXCEPT the spices. Also, I was on the fence about adding the spaghetti at the end, but my chili was still very runny and hadn't thickened up much. That small amount of pasta did the trick and it was a much thicker consistancy after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Great recipe. This is an easy one to use if you want to play with ingredients also. Like another reviewer, I used black beans (put half in whole and mashed the other half). I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh and added one diced and roasted sweet potato. The sweet potato cooked while I got the other ingredients going. Really good and simple..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Krieger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Changes: black beans, garlic powder - all I had. Added carrots, used red onion instead of white and doubled the cumin (preference) I started simmering the tomatoes and beans while I sauteed the onion in the Olive oil then added the ground Turkey. I seasoned the turkey with the spices and then transferred to tomato and bean summer. Absolutely delicious. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dj7
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Loved this recipe! Didn't change anything, I just doubled it to make enough for all the fam. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Nothing brings the family outside to our remote camp like this chili in the dead of winter. We have spent many a night huddled together in the cold enjoying bowl after bowl after bowl of this intoxicating meal. All we can talk about for hours at a time is the rich flavor of this life tasting extraordinary meal, each bite with subtle hints of hope. Before we found solace in the bold original taste of this chili, we would fear for ourselves in the dark. Add 7 bulbs of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Great base recipe! I added chopped celery, red pepper and carrots. My husband is not a big veggie guy, but loved this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I used this recipe as a base recipe for my own Turkey Chili. Thank you so much for the simple recipe that i could easily doctor up! The rating is for how easy the recipe was and how easily it could be modified. Here are the things i added: 1/4 pnd more ground turkey i had, 1 can drained and rinsed white kidney beans, (i mashed half of each can), 1 can seasoned beans for chili (not mashed at all), 1 can Hunts Dinner Starters for Chili, 1 green bell pepper chopped fine, 2 cups low sodium chicken broth instead of water. i did add the smallest splash of soy sauce, less than a teaspoon. (adds so much depth and complexity) tasted, then adjusted seasoning to taste (more chili powder, 1/4th teaspoon more salt, dash more red pepper, 2 teaspoon onion powder.) Simmered for a 30-40 min uncovered to thicken, and then 30-45 min more covered to let the flavors blend. TURNED OUT AMAZING! my fitness pal converting for 8 portions is 328 calories each. thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Blended the beans til totally smooth and creamy. Thus, no beans visable to the no-bean picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Came out wonderfully. I followed the recipe to the letter only to find out I only had a 14oz can of crushed tomatoes and no Cayenne pepper. So I added a little water to make up for the lack of canned tomatoes and grabbed a few of my heirloom plum tomatoes from the garden, diced them and threw them in the pot. Made some cornbread and YUM! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Another quick and easy recipe. Added my own touches and went without the cayenne pepper. Even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States