Simple Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I screwed up this recipe and threw it into a slow cooker on high for 4 hours and added rice to it. It looked like a stew, but the flavors were still there. You know its good when you try your best to mess it up and you still fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
A family member can't do beans so I substituted chunks of sweet potato. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melly Boss
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great recipe! Added in green and red pepper and black beans and white kidney beans (cannellini bean) and light red kidney beans. Also used one cup of water and one cup of beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Yummy yum yum! I added a bit of liquid smoke and Worcestershire sauce. I'm keeping this one in my recipe repertoire! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This is a good base. I added diced red pepper and diced jalapeno. Instead of water I used up some chicken broth I had left over. Instead of mashing beans I used a few spoon fulls of re-fried beans and pumpkin puree. Even though I did use fat free cheddar and fat free sour cream, I made cornbread to go with it and used real butter. So I hope it was a little balanced. LOL I'm sure this is a lovely dish without any changes. Simple. But I used up some odds and ends I had in the freezer,fridge and pantry. That's why I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very good. I left out the cayenne pepper just because I didn't want to too spicy for my kids. Also left out the beans because my husband is not a fan. Only added one cup of water. Didn't taste like turkey at all which is a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Mathieson
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I followed this recipe almost exactly swapping only the cayenne for just a pinch of red pepper flakes. After 30 minutes of simmering it was way too watery and kind of bland. I added a tiny can of tomato paste to thicken. I was skeptical but decided to try the cinnamon and brown sugar suggested in other reviews. I only added about a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and 1 TBSP brown sugar. It really changed the flavor but in a good way. 4 stars because even without my last minute additions its a pretty good recipe considering the calorie count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennLovesShawn
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I sautéed the onions before adding the turkey in olive oil and it made this recipe the best chili I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennLovesShawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I'm torn on how to rate a recipe when you make changes to it. However in this case I wouldn't have made the best pot of chili without this recipe so it needs 5 stars. I added more veggies, more beans, and didn't have paprika. The base is a really good chili recipe, but like some other people I found it was lacking a certain flavor (couldn't put my finger on it). I fixed that up with a tablespoon of brown sugar and maybe a 1/4 cup or so of masa. I found it really brought all the flavors together. I hate spicy foods and I didn't find this recipe spicy at all. I followed all the spices per recipe (minus paprika). Thank you so much for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I tried this after reading all of the positive reviews, so perhaps my expectations were a bit too high from the start, but I wasn't exactly blown away by this recipe. Sure, it tasted fine and was quite enjoyable on a chilly January evening, but it reminded me more of a turkey soup than chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States