Simple Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Melly Boss
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great recipe! Added in green and red pepper and black beans and white kidney beans (cannellini bean) and light red kidney beans. Also used one cup of water and one cup of beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Yummy yum yum! I added a bit of liquid smoke and Worcestershire sauce. I'm keeping this one in my recipe repertoire! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This is a good base. I added diced red pepper and diced jalapeno. Instead of water I used up some chicken broth I had left over. Instead of mashing beans I used a few spoon fulls of re-fried beans and pumpkin puree. Even though I did use fat free cheddar and fat free sour cream, I made cornbread to go with it and used real butter. So I hope it was a little balanced. LOL I'm sure this is a lovely dish without any changes. Simple. But I used up some odds and ends I had in the freezer,fridge and pantry. That's why I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very good. I left out the cayenne pepper just because I didn't want to too spicy for my kids. Also left out the beans because my husband is not a fan. Only added one cup of water. Didn't taste like turkey at all which is a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Mathieson
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I followed this recipe almost exactly swapping only the cayenne for just a pinch of red pepper flakes. After 30 minutes of simmering it was way too watery and kind of bland. I added a tiny can of tomato paste to thicken. I was skeptical but decided to try the cinnamon and brown sugar suggested in other reviews. I only added about a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and 1 TBSP brown sugar. It really changed the flavor but in a good way. 4 stars because even without my last minute additions its a pretty good recipe considering the calorie count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennLovesShawn
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I sautéed the onions before adding the turkey in olive oil and it made this recipe the best chili I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennLovesShawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I'm torn on how to rate a recipe when you make changes to it. However in this case I wouldn't have made the best pot of chili without this recipe so it needs 5 stars. I added more veggies, more beans, and didn't have paprika. The base is a really good chili recipe, but like some other people I found it was lacking a certain flavor (couldn't put my finger on it). I fixed that up with a tablespoon of brown sugar and maybe a 1/4 cup or so of masa. I found it really brought all the flavors together. I hate spicy foods and I didn't find this recipe spicy at all. I followed all the spices per recipe (minus paprika). Thank you so much for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I tried this after reading all of the positive reviews, so perhaps my expectations were a bit too high from the start, but I wasn't exactly blown away by this recipe. Sure, it tasted fine and was quite enjoyable on a chilly January evening, but it reminded me more of a turkey soup than chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Used this for leftover turkey from Christmas and I used black beans and corn cause that's what I had in the cupboard. I did not use any water at all. There was enough liquid from the canned tomatoes. Worked for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
"Awesome" per my family. I added one diced Poblano pepper and sautéed with the onion. I substituted 2 cups chicken broth for water and pureed one 28 oz can of pinto beans in place of kidney beans. Added one 15 oz can of drained black beans but didn't puree as my family likes some texture. Family said "Most awesome chili ever and has a lot of kick". Not for those who can't handle some heat though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativeglutenfree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States