Simple Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great gluten-free basic recipe to put in the crock pot after browning meat; I used an extra can of tomato in place of water and it just fits in the pot, which I love. Had a few "leftover" fresh mini sweet peppers so I threw those in too along with canned Chipotle peppers (chopped) which adds a smoky flavor, but is super spicy so start with one, then wait 1/2 hr before adding more. I served with shredded sow mozzarella cheese(Trader Joes) chopped onion, cilantro, tomato, olive & black corn chips. Huge hit, low fat, gluten-free! Also, Made same recipe vegan with Trader Joe's Vegan ground beef; you need 2 paks, follow same directions, comes out great, and use the soy cheese to serve, vegan heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Loved it. Made it as written for the first time and it was great although a little soupy. I did make use organic fire roasted tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes, which really added to the flavor. Next couple of times cut the water down to 1/4 cup (combined with a little chicken bullion) and added a can of pinto beans. Also tossed in a green pepper and a little bit of fresh jalapeno. Is absolutely wonderful and can't tell the difference from regular chili. Will be my new go-to recipe for chili. My husband, who is a rather discerning chili fan, loves it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
First things first: Don't listen to the people who rated this recipe poorly if he or she says he/she created his/her own version using things not listed in this recipe. I followed the recipe almost to a T (I added 1.5 tbs of regular chili powder and .5 tbs of spicy chili powder) and it turned out wonderfully; however, the next time around I think I will cut back slightly on the oregano (it's just my own personal preference) and add some celery and carrots (again, my own preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
We really liked this recipe and made it a few times! My husband prefers ground beef chili but this is a healthier alternative. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was delicious. It is a great basic recipe that anyone can jazz up. I added 3 chipotle peppers with 1 T sauce from the can, 1 1/2 C chicken broth instead of water, 1 can of corn, 1 green pepper, 2 jalapenos, 1 handful of crimini mushrooms (husband's request), 2 T brown sugar, omitted cayenne pepper and oregano, and adjusted cumin, chili powder, and paprika to taste. I also seasoned the ground turkey with salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder. I simmered the whole pot for 1 hour. Will definitely make this again! Easy, hearty, and tons of flavor and textures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe, pretty simple. I did have to add more of the chili powder, cumin, and spice to get it to taste more like chili than tomatoes. I also added an extra can of beans and a can of corn. My fiance really liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Just made this and it was GREAT! I mean my very picky 5 and 4 year olds ate it up. My 2 year is going through this phase of not wanting to eat, just have milk, well she actually ate this chili and a good amount of it! Followed the recipe I just added extra beans because I double the batch. Great great recipe! It's a new fav. In our household! Thank you for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Really good and simple recipe! I added diced bacon in with the turkey and onions and it came out very good! I also added garbanzo beans. A good basic recipe that you can add to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Really great turkey chili recipe, with tons of flavor. I added my own modifications and it turned out great! Used lean lean turkey meat, I added 1 can of mild chili beans and 1 can kidney beans and only 1 cup of water because I love thick hearty chili!! If you want toppings I think avocado and cheese are classics that can't be beat. Also, if you're thinking of a light side dish I went with a coleslaw with homemade red wine vinaigrette ( Rachel Ray).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Very good, healthy version the whole family enjoyed. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States