Simple Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I am sorry but I just don't get all the enthusiasm about this recipe. I might as well have just eaten the tuna right out of the can. Needs celery, mayo, relish, garlic. Also, what is the deal with the picture that accompanies the recipe. Doesn't look like an English muffin to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
"Best tuna fish sandwich ever" was the review I got when I made these sandwiches! I messed up the recipe a little because I forgot to print it out, but it still turned out great! I accidentally used TWO cans of tuna, about 1/4 cup of minced onion and a whole (small) can of diced jalepenos. I added a squirt of whole grain mustard and a squirt of mayo (to keep it together better). I also used whole wheat bread instead of the English muffins. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
The jalapenos and cheese taste sooo good with the tuna! I used whole wheat bread and left out the onion (first time I made it I left it in, and it was too strong, plus I'm just not an onion fan). I toasted 1 slice of bread first, then added the tuna, jalapenos, and cheese on top and put it in a toaster oven while the other slice of bread was toasting. (if you use a toaster oven and don't toast the bread first, the bottom slice will be a little soggy). Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Helpful Tips: I prefer adding 1/4C of mayo, 1/3C of chopped celery, and maybe some finely chopped pecans or water chestnuts to make it crunchy. Fry on each side like a grilled cheese or wrap in a tortilla. This recipe has a good idea behind it, but I didn't care for it as written. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Feeling lazy one Sunday afternoon, I baked these up for my husband and I and we LOVED them! I modified the recipe slightly by using only half an onion, and finely chopped one celery stalk, and added 1 1/2 TB mayo, salt and pepper. Otherwise, followed the rest! Magnifico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ava

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PARKER71
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Simply delicious. Instead of English muffin, I used the English muffin bread. Grilled to perfection, golden brown and crunchy on the outside and creamy and chessy on the inside. Also added fresh dill, some lemon zest and a teaspoon of lemon juice. A great accompaniment with soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This was good. I used whole grain white bread instead of the english muffin and sweet pickle relish instead of the peppers. (It was all I had on hand.) Turned out delish...and exactly what I wanted. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Really needs some mayonnaise or salad dressing to hold the tuna together. Otherwise it just falls off the muffin. The taste is good, if you enjoy the hot peppers, which we do. Quick to fix. Great on a chilly day served with soup or a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Simple, yet very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Wow, this is perfect with some soup for lunch and so simple and easy to make. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States