Simple Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I am sorry but I just don't get all the enthusiasm about this recipe. I might as well have just eaten the tuna right out of the can. Needs celery, mayo, relish, garlic. Also, what is the deal with the picture that accompanies the recipe. Doesn't look like an English muffin to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I also had to add some mayo - it was way too dry. Then it tasted good - but with the recipe as is, I would not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Not bad at all. But the peppers have to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deposit, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Helpful Tips: I prefer adding 1/4C of mayo, 1/3C of chopped celery, and maybe some finely chopped pecans or water chestnuts to make it crunchy. Fry on each side like a grilled cheese or wrap in a tortilla. This recipe has a good idea behind it, but I didn't care for it as written. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I agree that this definately needs some mayo to hold together. Otherwise it was great. I, too, used whole wheat bread toasted first. Also used swiss cheese because that's what I had, but I thought it was great, if a tad bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Wow! This was wonderful! I made it as soon as I got it e-mailed to me. I did make a few changes as I did not have the jalapeno's, so I used banana peppers instead, and I also topped with roasted red peppers. I seasoned it a bit with fresh ground pepper, garlic and onion powder. I also used provolone cheese, it was just wonderful! What a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Really needs some mayonnaise or salad dressing to hold the tuna together. Otherwise it just falls off the muffin. The taste is good, if you enjoy the hot peppers, which we do. Quick to fix. Great on a chilly day served with soup or a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
"Best tuna fish sandwich ever" was the review I got when I made these sandwiches! I messed up the recipe a little because I forgot to print it out, but it still turned out great! I accidentally used TWO cans of tuna, about 1/4 cup of minced onion and a whole (small) can of diced jalepenos. I added a squirt of whole grain mustard and a squirt of mayo (to keep it together better). I also used whole wheat bread instead of the English muffins. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
The jalapenos and cheese taste sooo good with the tuna! I used whole wheat bread and left out the onion (first time I made it I left it in, and it was too strong, plus I'm just not an onion fan). I toasted 1 slice of bread first, then added the tuna, jalapenos, and cheese on top and put it in a toaster oven while the other slice of bread was toasting. (if you use a toaster oven and don't toast the bread first, the bottom slice will be a little soggy). Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Absolutely delicious...can't wait to make them again. They are a perfect lunch to take to work or to make for the kids to take to school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States