Simple Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I make these occasionally, and I think this is a different way to use tuna, and they always turn out yummy. Sometimes i will use shredded cheese and mix it in with the tuna, to get all over melty and cheesy. It's super easy to throw together with whatever type of bread you have around, and the ingredients are simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I'm the recipe creator and if you like mayo in your tuna melt, then this recipe is not for you! I'd never had a traditional tuna melt until a couple of years ago and I have to say.... mine are still the best! :) I've modified the way I make it over the past couple of years since I posted the recipe - I chop up the jalapenos and add them to the mix to spread the chili love around and I butter the muffins, but I don't toast them beforehand because I like that half soggy-half crispy texture. My cheese slices are also quite big! Now if I wrote that recipe as I truly make it now, it would be horrific in terms of fat content! But oh so good... Thank you all for trying my melts out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These turned out really good, but I definitely recommend toasting the English muffin, and also adding a good dollop of mayo to the tuna mixture. I had mine without the jalapenos, and wished I'd added some sliced fresh tomato. Thanks, Nisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was a good Tuna melt. I will have to add more flavor like Garlic or lemon pepper next time. Also, I would toast the English muffin before putting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I agree that you have to add a little mayo, I also subbed sweet cut up pickles in place of the peppers since I had my grandbabies over. Made a great lunch. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
YUM! Even my hubby liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Who knew that something so simple could taste sooo good!! I truly love this recipe. I made it on regular bread and it was great!! I love the kick of the peppers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was fantastic, however I had to doctor it up with two tablespoons of mayo. I also used a quarter of a slice of tomato and pepper-jack cheese rather then cheddar. My husband (who is an excellent cook)LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I thought this was delicious. I put the tuna on a whole wheat bun. I will make this again!! SIMPLE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.K.B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I am sorry but I just don't get all the enthusiasm about this recipe. I might as well have just eaten the tuna right out of the can. Needs celery, mayo, relish, garlic. Also, what is the deal with the picture that accompanies the recipe. Doesn't look like an English muffin to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States