Simple Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by mlshannon
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I had to update my review now that I have made these a few times.. I know I don't follow the recipe to a T but they are really good. I always add a little more seasoning garlic and onion powder and a little seasoning salt, I also add squirt of Dijon mustard, horseradish and mayo.. I never have English muffins I toast bread to put it on and bake that and this last time I used pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar and OMG they were so good and I'm not a huge tuna fan but when it comes to these I am....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
The combo of Jalepenos and cheese is what makes this so sandwich so great. I too added a little mayo, and it worked great. My husband likes a little spice in everything, so this was perfect for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I make these occasionally, and I think this is a different way to use tuna, and they always turn out yummy. Sometimes i will use shredded cheese and mix it in with the tuna, to get all over melty and cheesy. It's super easy to throw together with whatever type of bread you have around, and the ingredients are simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I'm the recipe creator and if you like mayo in your tuna melt, then this recipe is not for you! I'd never had a traditional tuna melt until a couple of years ago and I have to say.... mine are still the best! :) I've modified the way I make it over the past couple of years since I posted the recipe - I chop up the jalapenos and add them to the mix to spread the chili love around and I butter the muffins, but I don't toast them beforehand because I like that half soggy-half crispy texture. My cheese slices are also quite big! Now if I wrote that recipe as I truly make it now, it would be horrific in terms of fat content! But oh so good... Thank you all for trying my melts out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These turned out really good, but I definitely recommend toasting the English muffin, and also adding a good dollop of mayo to the tuna mixture. I had mine without the jalapenos, and wished I'd added some sliced fresh tomato. Thanks, Nisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was a good Tuna melt. I will have to add more flavor like Garlic or lemon pepper next time. Also, I would toast the English muffin before putting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I agree that you have to add a little mayo, I also subbed sweet cut up pickles in place of the peppers since I had my grandbabies over. Made a great lunch. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
YUM! Even my hubby liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Who knew that something so simple could taste sooo good!! I truly love this recipe. I made it on regular bread and it was great!! I love the kick of the peppers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was fantastic, however I had to doctor it up with two tablespoons of mayo. I also used a quarter of a slice of tomato and pepper-jack cheese rather then cheddar. My husband (who is an excellent cook)LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States