Simple Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Simple and elegant. The first day I went by the recipe, keeping in mind other viewers' comments about the amount of balsamic vinegar. I also added more garlic and spring onions, as well as the stems. Nice and crunchy. The second day I substituted some red wine that had been opened too long, and added red onions. The result was very colorful and tasty. I forgot the pine nuts that one reviewer recommended. That would have been wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Easy and simple as the title says. I also reduced the balsamic vinegar and also added some onions for some sweetness. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I think this is a great easy recipe that takes no time to cook. I love to add fresh cooked beets at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger
Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by michiganfoodie
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very tasty, be sure to use a good quality balsamic. I used the stems of the swiss chard, why waste them. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Not too bad. I added a little honey to sweeten it up. I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
It's a perfectly fine recipe. I grew up having it with white vinegar so the balsamic was a refreshing change. In the future, I will use more than "a bunch" of chard and much less vinegar, but otherwise this is an excellent way to whip up some greens with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Thanks. I loved this. I followed other recommendations and added a T of sugar and used white balsamic (full amount). A little sweet for my tastes, so I'll probably use regular balsamic next time but keep the T of sugar for a little sweet and sour taste. Definitely a keeper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I thought this recipe was simple, yet good. I changed it a bit. I diced the ribs of rainbow chard and sauted them with diced onion...this gave the dish a bit of crunch. I also had a jar of roasted red peppers and slivered them in when the chard was added. The combo was excellent. I loved the amount of vinegar (our family loves vinegar). I did add a pinch of sugar to offset the acidity. Topped smashed fingerling potatoes with this colorful and yummy wilted chard. And served with a sliced heirloom tomato! YUM! My husband and my 17 month old son LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I liked this, nice and easy. Didn't have any red balsamic on hand, so I used white, which may have been too sweet... still, I liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My first time fixing swiss chard (I used rainbow chard). Was a bit blah (other than too vinegary) so I added some pine nuts. Next time I'll cut the vinegar and I'm sure it'll be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States