Simple Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I love Swiss chard, but the balsamic vinegar was OVERWHELMING. I think I will use maybe 1 or 2 tablespoons next time. This was edible after we drained it and added parmesan to the top, but this amount of vinegar is just was too much and overpowered the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Call me a purist. If you want to enjoy swiss chard by itself (vs. as part of a casserole, etc), adding most things to it is just a bad idea. The vegetable has such a delicate peppery taste that's delightful by itself - I normally don't even add salt (only pepper) because the salt will mask its natural taste. I decided to give this recipe the benefit of the doubt and used 1/4 of the recommended amount of balsamic vinegar - it completely covered the natural taste of the leaves (couldn't penetrate some of the stalks, thank goodness) and all I could taste was vinegar. My advice? Keep it simple. Saute in garlic and olive oil and add some pepper at the end - that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Excellent and so simple! The flavour was wonderful, and my family enjoyed it. No changes necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I liked this very much. First time I ever ate Swiss Chard. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
We loved this. I picked fresh Ruby Red Rhubarb Chard and it was excellent. The balsamic vinegar was perfect with it. I will cook this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
absoluetly incredible -- we added an onion and doubled the garlic -- loved it !!!! we will try it with rendered bacon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Liked this recipe... but we are lovers of balsamic vinegar. I'm sure I didn't use as much vinegar as called for. I don't measure... but it still turned out great. For added flavor and color I peeled carrots into the pan as the chard cooked down. The contrast of the orange looked pretty on the plate and tasted great! With the rows and rows of swiss chard growing in my garden, I will be sure to use this quick recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Jules

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Had almost a sweet taste, very flavorful and not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe! Balsamic vinegar is a great alternative to plain vinegar and greens. This recipe is great as is. I added some fresh bacon bits as accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danomo99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Very quick and easy. I added 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and it was just right. I also added 2 big cloves of garlic, and a pinch of sugar. It was delicious just dont overcook it or it ends up mushy, about 7 mins was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States