Simple Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I've got more swiss chard from my garden than I can eat, and this recipe was a new and delicious way to eat some of it up. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I loved this - thank you! It was delicious as written but I also added a diced tomato at the end because I had some to use up. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I've recently tried Swiss Chard for the first time and thought this to be O.K. for a green leafy vegetable. I decided to try this particular way of cooking it and found it very pleasing to my palate. Reading other comments regarding the balsamic vinegar I decided to use white balsamic and only added a couple of tablespoons and a bit of sugar to counter balance the acidity. I cut up the stems and used them also just saute'd them first, then added the greens. The Swiss Chard came out really delicious! Thanks for the recipe - I would of never thought of using the balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This recipe was really good! The only substitution I used was roasted garlic instead of fresh. I was expecting the vinegar to be overpowering, but all the flavors complimented each other. I also sprinkled it with shredded parmesan cheese as a finishing touch. I will make this again if Swiss Chard ends up in my basket again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was delicious. I got swiss chard in my CSA box this week and was looking for a simple way to prepare. This was great- mine cooked up much faster than the 5 minutes stated in the recipe, but the result was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I'm making this for the 3rd time tonight. We've really enjoyed the intense flavor of the balsamic vingear. It's a great way to use the abundance of rainbow swiss chard we've received in our weekly share from our community farm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beatrice, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
recipe included far too much vinegar but try again for a simple healthy side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I thought this recipe was great! If you like balsamic vinegar then you will love the way it turns out. It's just bitter enough and the bite of the sauteed garlic adds that ever punch. It goes well on cous cous or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Delicious! I used the colorful stalks, and they tasted fine. I would suggest reducing the balsamic vinegar, as it was a little bit sour. An alternate solution is to add 1 tbsp+1 tsp brown sugar to the swiss chard after adding the balsamic vinegar. For extra flavor, add a dash each of lemon pepper, pepper, red pepper flakes, and salt. Feeling adventurous? Add a couple pinches lavender flowers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChezMauraKate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was good, but not great. I would recommend sauteing some mushrooms in butter separately and mixing them into the Swiss Chard after it's done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States