Simple Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is an excellent basic recipe that can't go wrong, with one exception. You must love balsamic vinegar enough to propose marriage to it. Against my better judgement , I made the fatal decision to follow the directions explicitly, as I usually do when trying a new recipe. This amount of balsamic absolutely ruined the dish. Try a tablespoon instead. Balsamic has a strong and earthy flavor but, overused, it turns your dish into a mushy, sharply flavored nightmare. Rethink it Teresa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was a good idea for a recipe, but I changed the balsamic vinegar to white cooking wine, the white wine did not overwhelm the dish like the balsamic vinegar. It was amazing. I sauteed thickly sliced garlic (I enjoy the flavor and texture), added freshly ground pepper, salt, fresh rosemary and finally poured in the wine, added the chard and cooked as recommended. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I've been trying to incorporate different greens in our diet and my husband loved it. I halved the balsamic as suggested but and only added pepper. I will definitely make this again. Simple is the word!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Perfect for its simplicity. Great vivid green side on a plate, alongside a savory entree. Served with osso bucco and creamy polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I really like swiss chard, and this is a good dish. The balsamic vinegar gives it a distinctive flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
came out well. Fresh tasting and delicious. easy healthy side dish with a bit of bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very simple indeed! I like adding the balsamic vinegar! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I've been making this for 3 years +. It is by far one of our favorite side dishes. It takes 5 minutes to make and is amazing. Instead of mincing the garlic, I take two cloves and smash them and then just mix them in the bowl with the cooked chard. We don't eat the garlic, but it's enough to give the chard flavor...and it saves time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I was worried that my husband may not go for this one...he actually liked it. I think next time I will use a little less balsamic vinegar as it was almost overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Baxtron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I've got more swiss chard from my garden than I can eat, and this recipe was a new and delicious way to eat some of it up. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States