Simple Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
my toddler eats this up like candy! I always chop the stalks and cook them in the olive oil mix first...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My first experience with Swiss Chard, delish! I would probably use a bit less balsamic next time. I did 1 TBSP of coconut oil and 1/4 c. broth. Try it as is, you'll enjoy it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Wallace Hetherington

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Waaaay too much balsamic for one buncb of chard. Try it with a teaspoon, 2 at most and add more to suit your personal taste, but a quarter cup for one bunch of chard is seriously overdoing (just my opinion, but my family LOVES chard and no one would eat it). Usually for one bunch of chard I will add lime juice as an acid. It is less harsh than balsamic and adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Very nice, basic recipe. I sauteed a few strips of cubed bacon and chopped onion with the garlic. I skipped the salt since the bacon had plenty and added the balsamic when I served it rather than cooking it in to the dish. Yummy! I will mention for those new to chard that you have to wash it very thoroughly as it tends to be sandy/gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristyl Heidenreich Sutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I have never had Swiss Chard before, and this was actually delicious. Unfortunately, none of the kids liked it. I might try next time leaving out the balsamic (as other reviewers suggested).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Every week I get Swiss Chard in my CSA box. My husband and one kid do not like it at all. Despite all the recipes I've used. This recipe had both of them asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
As a first timer with swiss chard, I found this super easy to make and delicious! Added a bit of lemon which was nice. Also think it would taste good with or without the balsamic vinegar, and with onions I bet. I'd recommend this to those wanting to try swiss chard cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Too much vinegar, but still good. I love chard! And a super simple recipe is usually my favorite way to eat it, but some carmelized onions would cut the sour a bit I think. I paired this with "Barley Primavera" and it's really good together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe greatly! I was looking for a quick recipe for my chard I got at the farm yesterday. I used grapeseed oil for the cooking, throwing in garlic and the chard stems first. I splashed the chard leaves with vinegar after they were cooking, added a sprinkle of rosemary and pepper at the finish. If you think you are a professional chef, this may not be the website for you. I feel like this is a community of people who like to share and encourage each other, not rip others apart because their tastes may be different. There are other venues where you can do that silly work. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I am giving this 4 stars because my husband, who gags on cooked greens, enjoyed it. I won't give it 5 stars because the balsamic vinegar was overpowering, even with halving the amount (only 2 Tbsp). Next time I'll add more garlic and only 1 Tbsp of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States