Simple Summer Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Forgot to add the honey but didn't miss it. I used frozen raspberries instead of cherries and low fat vanilla yogurt. No ice required since all the fruit, including the banana, were already frozen. Excellent. Perfect for hot summer afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
My husband loved this recipe, he said it was better than ice cream. I would do 1/2 of a batch for the 2 of us next time, it made quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Its good. I didn't add the honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
i thought it was good but i ran out of time to drink it and i gave it to my turkeys and man did that help them grow feathers! they havnt been so happy in the many years that i have had them. thank you so much for the help. i appriciate it and so do my turkeys. they are doing well, and hope to have more in the near future. i also sometimes add gain to this recipe and attract other animals to have a healthy living style. he is now 142lbs. he will be about 200lbs by thanks giving. thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I thought this tasted good, but I had a couple issues with it. I cut the recipe in half. The cherry taste, I thought was pronounced, which I liked. The only change I made was using a small splash of agave syrup for the honey. However, with the little amount of liquid, my strong mixer with all of that frozen fruit was not going to budge. To get it to blend, I ended up using milk for the additional liquid. I added about 3/4 of a cup for half the recipe. I am glad I used milk instead of additional oj, because I found this to be quite a bit too sweet. I did like that it used a variety of fruit though. I may try it again and modify it to taste, possibly reducing the vanilla yogurt, to see if that makes it a little less sweet tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is one I've been wanting to make for quite awhile, always waiting until I had fresh or frozen cherries at hand. I still didn't, but I made this anyway, cherry juice and cherry yogurt fillling in for the always absent real thing. Also, this time, while I did have frozen bananas in the freezer, the strawberries and blueberries I used were fresh and cold, but not frozen. The result was interesting and we both approved - the smoothie was lighter, not nearly as thick. Very refreshing! With this big mix of fruits compared to the smaller amounts of orange juice and yogurt, this was intensely fruity too. Great as is, I'm sure, but I added a little extra honey. This is one of the better smoothies I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I didn't bother to add ice (the berries were frozen which eliminated the need for ice) and I did not add the honey. My banana was plenty ripe which made the smoothie naturally sweet without having to add honey or extra sugar. DELICIOUS and very filling. The boys and I really enjoyed this smoothie. I might try to freeze this during the summer to make quick yogurt pops. I think this would make a great cool summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
A very good recipe. Omitted the orange juice and used pineapple juice instead and a little splenda. Was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Great smoothie!! I added a tbsp ea of flax and wheat germ 1/2 c milk, 1/2 plain yogurt and 1 1/2 cups frozen mixed fruit along with the 1/4 c OJ. Instead of honey, I added 2 packs of splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Wow - this definitely is "Simple" and has all the flavors of Summer! I cut the recipe in half and froze my banana along with the strawberries and blueberries and used didn't bother freezing my fresh cherries. I used a little less OJ and some fat free vanilla yogurt. I cut back a bit on the ice adding a little skim milk and a bit of sugar. Overall, great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States