Simple Summer Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made this for my daughter. I substituted 4 cups of frozen strawberries for all the other fruit and made a strawberry smoothie. i also added about a cup of skim milk. it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This had a good flavor, but a couple of points. One, it was a bit on the tart side, and therefore I don't really consider the honey optional. I'm not sure more honey would help. It seems to need more or less of... something else, don't know what. I notice many leaving out the cherries. The bigger problem is that it's hard to mix. The ice is needed since there's very little liquid. As to the person with the old blender - not sure it's the blender - there just isn't a lot of liquid to mix the fruit smooth. I managed, and the ice was pure liquid by time I was done, but it's definitely easy getting it smooth with more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
It was good. I used blackberries and strawberries instead of blueberries and cherries. I may add a little splenda next time or maybe more honey because it was a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne Dickey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Getting started on the smoothie train, i'm diabetic, need recipes without alot of SUGAR! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I'd say unless you can find really sweet berries, the orange juice and the berries make it too sour. the second time i used less strawberries and used latte instead of orange juice, and it came out a lot better! ice is indispensible in this recipe cuz it really counts as water in this, or else the smoothie is too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
OMG these were amazing! I changed the recipe a bit because I didn't have cherries and I didn't have any OJ made. For the berries I had a bag of frozen mixed berries, strawberries, raspberries, black berries and blue berries I just used that, it equaled 2 cups. Then in stead of OJ I just peeled and sectioned an orange. I also added about 1/2 cup of heavy cream to add a little liquid. It came out exquisitely! Next time I make this recipe I will add some protein powder for additional nutrition, I'd like to see how it tastes with the Honey and probably some juice instead of the heavy cream. I just happened to have that and not juice in my fridge so I used it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah Helms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I modified this recipe to what I had on hand. I used 1 C Light Vanilla Yogurt, 1 banana, 1 clementine, a few marachino cherries, frozen strawberries (from the garden thawed)& added some of the juice, sugar free honey, and about 8 ice cubes. Blended until smooth. This tasted great, not too sweet and not bitter. Can't wait to get some fresh blueberries to try with it. CareBear
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
very tasty. a little seedy, cause I only used raspberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great flavor and very refreshing! I used frozen banana, blueberries and cherries, and fresh strawberries, plain yogurt and added about 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I probably used less orange juice, as I was leery of the citrus flavor, but then added a splash of skim milk to get the right texture. I also skipped the ice, as most of my fruit was frozen so I didn't think I needed it, and sweetened to taste with agave nectar. I had frozen fresh cherries specifically to try in a smoothie, and this recipe is a perfect example of how to use them that way! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Great drink to me, but the kids didn't like the taste of the oj in the background.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States