Simple Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PacificKat
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Not a sweet dough, it makes a good cookie for icing/decorating. Dough was dry and hard to work. I added less flour, which made them much easier to roll and handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I decorated my cookies with vanilla frosting, so I substituted the lemon extract with vanilla. The honey is a great addition, and they turn out really crispy and keep forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2000
I had to use wheat flour, but they were great anyhow! Hillary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I don't know if I did something wrong or what, but the dough was so gooey, we couldn't roll it. We ended up rolling them into balls and flattening them to make simple round cookies. I didn't like the lemon extract, either. Next time I'll try vanilla. It tasted too much like a lemon cookie. No bad, just not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I've used this recipe for many years and love it. The only thing I do is cut back a little on the lemon. Because of the honey these cookies turn out darker and with so much more flavor than regular sugar cookies. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
This is a great recipe, quick, easy and fun! Try it with white icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
im sorry. i dont know what in the world i did wrong, because whatever it is i mustve done SOMETHING really bad cause my cookies turned out horrible. the dough was dry and crumbly and hard to work with. when they finished baking, they were hard and brittle and didnt taste like a sugar cookie AT ALL. sorry. thanks but no thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
We had to use a lot more flour than the recipe said, otherwise it would have been too sticky to use cookie cutters with. We used about an extra 2 cups of flour. This is a basic sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
OMG!! it was so good! but instead of shortening we used butter and instead of lemon extract we used vanilla extract and then added real lemon juice. We also doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
nice and easy! i used coconut flavoring instead of lemon and tossed in some coconut as well. my 85 year old Mom loved them! soft cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States