Simple Strawberry Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Good basic strawberry syrup. I had to cook it for about half an hour and then used cornstarch to thicken (1-2 tsp cornstarch in a 2 tablespoons of cold water, mixed well, then added to the simmering syrup and stirred constantly for two minutes). I didn't strain the sauce - it is good with bits of strawberry. The family loved it on waffles ("fluffy pancakes" recipe on this site) and we had plenty left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NayCakes
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made this strawberry syrup for cheesecake pancakes. My brother and my fiance loved it! I will definitely make this again. I left the strawberries in since it was for pancakes. The syrup tasted almost like strawberry preserves. Next time I will squeeze a bit of lemon into the syrup while it is reducing to give it another layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
EASY and AMAZING! The bonus is that the leftover pulp makes a great spread for toast and sandwiches, too. I made this exactly as stated but I think it took a little longer than 20 minutes to cook down. It was really great served warm on french toast and equally good the next day on leftovers. I've already added this to my real life recipe box as a keeper and will be making it next time we have guests over for breakfast or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Nielsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Trying to make this right now and its been in the "simmer til it thickens" stage for about 20 minutes now, and not showing any signs of thickening. Smells great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this for Christmas and served over buttermilk pancakes. It was wonderful! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I didn't change anything, it was ridiculously easy to make and everyone loved it warm right out of the pot. I have some left over so I'll be refrigerating it and using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I love this recipe. It's so easy to make and I am addictive to strawberry. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Heavenly!! I use this with the fruit that looks best in the market, that day. Today it was peaches. I made it with strawberries and was very pleased, so the stretch to different fruits was an easy reach. This is a great starter syrup and can be taken in several wonderful directions. Thanks Daniel for making my pancakes a little bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This was super easy and uber tasty. My whole family loves it. We used on flapjacks and waffles, it is just awesome. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I was looking for a strawberry sauce to serve with homemade angel food cake, and this fit the bill perfectly. I did not strain it because I wanted the strawberry chunks, and I thickened it at the end of the cooking with 1 T corn starch (mixed with 1 T water before adding to the sauce). I also added a bit of lemon juice. It was delicious and a big hit at my grandson's birthday party, served with the angel food cake and whipped cream! I put the leftover strawberry sauce in a jar in the fridge and have used it over pancakes with whipped cream...my oh my! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States