Simple Strawberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this last Christmas (a few times, actually) for strawberry shortcake. It's sooooooo good, and so fresh! I might try it with a teaspoon of corn syrup next time to use as a strawberry topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saugie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Needed something quick and easy and this seemed to work almost instantly. I used Ideal sugar substitute instead of sugar and the strawberries and sauce were perfect over a slice of pound cake with a bit of whipped cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was a simple and fast way to sweetened some fresh tart strawberries I wanted to use on top of my strawberry cheesecake. It was perfect because unlike sauce recipes that require you make it on the stovetop for the use with cheesecake it was prettier and more fruitier than using an actual sauce. Only thing is because the sugar starts to make strawberries juice come to the outside it can get soggy if cut to thin so cut in chunks and eat right away!! Don't know if I would call it a sauce but maybe 'sugar sweetened strawberries'? Either way I loved it, thanks bluegirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Made this to go on top of Sour Cream Pound Cake from this site. So Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I grew up eating strawberries this way. Any left over strawberries from mom's cakes were up for grabs so we'd throw some sugar on them and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Perfect for out family! We had this over waffles.It's peak strawberry season, so my strawberries were already very sweet, so I would cut the sugar a bit when they are in season and fresh. Very good and easy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
My family love it . Some times I add blackberries with the strawberries and I always seve it with banana .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Perfect! I can remember as a child being at my Grandmother's & I can still see that big white ceramic bowl sitting on her counter full of ripe, juicy, sweet strawberries (from this recipe). My cousins & I would peel back the saran wrap & sneak a couple, scraping each one against the stray sugar that had gathered around the top half of that ceramic bowl, each time we entered the kitchen whilst we ran about our Grandparents house like grandkids / cousins often did during that time. Today, I use this same recipe as a topping on pounde cake, followed with a big dollop of cool whip. I try to always use home made (cake & whip cream) but have found pound cake from my stores bakery & cool whip work beautifully! Also, these berries taste great over ice cream! This recipe deserves 5 stars for being delicious, easy (you can't mess it up if you tried!), & nostalgic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Simple is right! great on top of angle food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Rush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Like my Grandmama used to make!! Yes, a simple recipe, but guess what? I never knew it was that easy til I searched for it. Thank you for posting what may seem like a common sense recipe for those of us who never knew how to make delicious home-made strawberry syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States