Simple Spinach Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is an awesome basis for vegetarian lasagna. I did make some changes as suggested by previous reviewers. I exchanged one package of spinanch for some brocolli, zuchini and mushrooms. I precooked my noodles and left out the water (only because thats they way I make my regular lasanga). I probably used more mozzarella than was called for as we really like the cheesy taste. I used a smaller jar of spaghetti sauce but made up the difference with a 6oz jar of tomato paste and some tomato sauce. Despite these changes I think this recipe is excellent as it stands & I will use it again & again with whatever variations strike me at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Oh man, this was so good! I used whole wheat pasta and light spaghetti sauce. Other than that, I made no changes to the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This tasted good and was easy to put together. Not so pleasing to the eye, though - the spinach makes the sauce look brown and kinda nasty. I used a 45 oz. jar of sauce, which worked out really well. I think that I will save some of the plain jar sauce for the very top layer next time, just so the appearance is better. I used part-skim ricotta instead of cottage cheese because it was cheaper, and I used an additional 4 oz. mozzarella and 2 oz. parmesan sprinkled over the very top. Lasagna is very filling and this made a lot so, as an added bonus, I have several individual servings in my freezer for future lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Extremely easy to make and super tasty. My family loved this and they couldnt get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Although I don't know I'd use the world simple, it was AWESOME. It's so hard to find dishes without meat that my husband wont try to add meat to, and he loved this! We ate leftovers for days, and I didn't change anything. Added a little onion and garlic, just because we love it, but it was great as is! I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Husband complained about it now having meat but he did like it. I think that 10 oz of spinach would have been sufficient. Also, (not the recipe's fault) I used the USDA canned spaghetti sauce I had, but I think a more flavorful sauce would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I picked the first spinach lasagna with cottage cheese that I saw, and after making it and comparing it to others, I still think it's better than those. Here's what I subbed or added: plain tomato sauce for the spaghetti sauce; I used 1 pkg frozen spinach, about 4 cups of fresh spinach, about 6 oz. fresh sliced mushrooms, and 1 carrot. We all loved this recipe along with the "quick cheesy bread" recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mothertameka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
My 10-year-old daughter was able to make this recipe with minimal assistance and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Tasty! I made my own tweaks, because I'm just impatient! I cooked my noodles before layering them, hence I omitted the water. Also, I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage, and fresh herbs out of my herb garden! Result=Yummy, healthy version of lasagna! Even the man of the house liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandsurfsun85

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This recipe is great! I only like vegetable lasagna so whenever I make it, I use this recipe as a base. I usually add mushrooms and use ricotta instead of cottage cheese. First time I made it, I followed the recipe, except for adding mushrooms, and found the spinach to be way too soft/soggy. So, I saute garlic, onion, mushrooms, spinach, flavor it with salt, pepper, and basil. Set this aside. Make the cheese mix. I put good amount of sauce on the baking dish and pour some water in it and mix it around. Then I layer my noodle, cheese mix, spinach mix. Pour sauce and then pour some water on top. Then I do noodle, cheese mix, spinach, sauce & water... finish with noodle and sauce & water. Making sure all the corners of the noodle is covered well. I use about 27oz Marinara sauce and a cup of water. The noodles are cooked well every time and the spinach is not too soft. And you don't have to cook the sauce in the pot, so it's time saving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laneko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States