Simple Spinach Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Simply heavenly. I make my own pasta sauce for it, using, in addition to the usual diced tomatoes, a small can of Walmart brand "diced tomatoes and jalopenas" for a nick spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WoundedEgo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is so, so good. One of those dishes where the leftovers just keep getting better! My only changes were to cook the noodles (whole wheat) and omit the water from the recipe and then I also used 1 cup of fat free ricotta with 1 cup of the cottage cheese. I think that, next time, I will use bagged spinach. If do use the frozen again, I will drain it!! I will also use MORE GARLIC :) This is just a great vegetarian recipe. It makes a ton so next time I will probably split it into 2 pans and freeze one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I'm so glad I found this recipe. I've made it twice now and tweeked it to what my friends think is perfection. Do NOT boil the noodles first, it isn't necessary. Saute onion, spinach, and 1 jar of artichokes, 1 jar of roasted red peppers in a sauce pan. Add spaghetti sauce and (here's the key) 1 lb veggie crumbles. It is amazing. I also layered some fresh spinach leaves between the meat and cheese layers. I finished with a layer of mozzarella for a browned cheesy top. Great recipe. It gave me a good base to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I've made this a couple of times, and while we liked it both times, I made some adjustments because I did think it came out a bit watery the first time. I used 16 oz of frozen spinach, 1 onion, 2 handfuls of baby carrots chopped, and 2 handfuls of frozen broccoli chopped. I let the spinach and broccoli saute by themselves until they were well thawed and the extra water was gone. I didn't toss the carrots into the sauce mixture until later in the simmer, so they retained quite a bit of crunch, which was a nice contrast in texture to the rest of the lasagna. I used 24 oz of fat-free cottage cheese, and instead of 8oz of mozzarella I used an 8 oz block of Tomato & Basil feta cheese. I left out the parsley, salt & pepper because I was getting so many spices from the spaghetti sauce and feta cheese already. I used a box of No Boil lasagna noodles, and squeezed in an extra this time, to help soak up the extra water. I topped it with some reserved spaghetti sauce, and sprinkled the top with some mozzarella. It got rave reviews around the table, and it came out with an excellent texture, not soupy this time. My husband declared it the best lasagna he'd ever had, so I had to make sure I wrote down the changes I'd made this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Too much Spinach and not enough cheese. And it made way too much sauce. It did have decent flavor but a bit too heavy on the spinach. Lots left over and it didn't get reheated which tells me my family didn't care for it very much. Maybe with half the amount of spinach and more cheese it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was extremely pleased with this recipe and will definitely use it again. I used two 24 oz. jars of sauce; I mixed one full jar with the spinach, 1/2 the second jar for the a sauce-only bottom and top layer, and put the remaining 1/2 jar in a gravy boat on the table for those who wanted more sauce. I used fat-free mozzarella and cottage cheese, but also mixed in a full brick of (well-drained) tofu. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was a great recipe, though I made a few modifications to make it just right. I bought the "no boil" lasagna noodles, which allowed me to eliminate the water. I also just used 26oz of spaghetti sauce, since that's the size the jar comes in. I added mushrooms, as well, for flavor and texture. I subbed ricotta for the cottage cheese and "finished" with mozzarella on top of the sauce because, really, who can deny their love for the slightly browned cheese on top? Because I used "no boil" noodles, I reduced the baking time to about 40mn, removing the foil after the first 30. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was a good recipe. I give it 4 stars because how can it be 5 stars if you have to make changes? Anytime, you make changes it is no longer a 5 star recipe. So the changes I made. I added 1 cup of mushrooms chopped, a whole onion chopped, and a 1/4 cup of red bell peppers chopped to the saute. I only used 1 1/2 packages of frozen spinach. 1 seemed like too little. 2 would have been too much. I added some italian seasoning, papkrika, and used garlic salt instead of garlic cloves. In the sauce I added 1.5 bottles of sphaghetti sauce. I used a whole mushroom flavored bottle (26 oz) and 1/2 of a cheese blend bottle. (26 oz used 13) I didn't add any water to the sauce at all. For the cheese mixture, I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't boil my noodles as instructed and baked as instructed covered for 50 mins. Then I removed the cover and sprinkled with cheddar/sharp cheese. Oh and I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. I have used cottage in the past and didn't like it. The key to the noodles is to make sure every inch of the noodles has sauce on them. This way they will be soft when you finish cooking. It was really great. I coupled it with a salad and some garlic bread and it was a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Following some other suggestions, I substituted skim ricotta instead of cottage cheese, and I used 1 package of spinach and about 12 ounces of frozen broccoli florets. I think it would have been too "spinach-y" otherwise. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe was really simple, I would recommend it to anyone making lasagna for the first time. The next time I make it I will add more cheese to recipe and increase the amount of sauce between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States