Simple Spinach Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
So easy and yummy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is very good. I made quite a few modifications to this recipe though- 2 pkgs. of frozen spinach is way too much. I used 1/2 a pkg of frozen spinach & 1/2 a pkg of frozen broccoli (I used the food processor for the broccoli) and this was plenty of veggies. I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. The first time I made it I omitted the water like some users suggested, but then I ran out of sauce. The second time I added the water back in, but then had too much sauce. I think 3/4 cup of water is probably about right. I used a 12 oz. pkg of mozarella cheese instead of an 8 oz. and then sprinkled the top with part of another pkg in the last 15 minutes of baking. I have also tried this with meat; I added 1/2 lb. ground beef and it's even better that way. Each time I make this I have had extra noodles left over. I used a 9x13 pan. I guess this is "simple" as far as lasagna goes, but I felt that it was a fairly complex recipe. Enough so that I would recommend doubling the recipe and making 2 while you are at it; might as well freeze one for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Delicious! Instead of a jar of spaghetti, I made "Best Marinara Sauce Yet", from this website. I had 3 cups of marinara sauce which ened up being the perfect amount for this recipe. I used low-fat ricotta cheese in place of cottage cheese. To the cheese I mixed the mozzarella and parmesan cheese with 1 egg, fresh parsley with salt and black pepper. I placed a small amount of sauce on the bottom of the pan, layered the noodles, then the riccota cheese. On top of the ricotta cheese I placed layers of fresh organic spinach and thinly sliced mushrooms. I repeated the layers until I ended up with sauce which I topped with mozzarella cheese and a sprinkle of freshly grated parmesan reggianno cheese. I added a 1/4 cup of chicken broth to the bottom of the pan along with the sauce. I baked it according to the directions. The lasagna was done within 55 minutes, but I took off the foil to bake another 5 minutes. The sauce was bubbling on the bottom of the pan. My house smelled like an italian restaurant! I had a wonderfully fresh tasting savory lasagna. There were tons of cheese oozing in between layers of noodles. When I picked up a piece of lasagna with my fork cheese clung to the fork and the noodles. The homemade sauce was so fresh with bits of crushed roma tomatoes. I loved all the fresh green spinach and mushrooms which added to the texture of the lasagna. I also ate this with a nice warm crusty "French Bread", also from this website. A hearty and satisfying meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! I made some changes. I added canned sliced carrots that I chopped into smaller pieces to the sauce mix; I used whole-wheat lasagna noodles, and instead of using the cottage cheese, I used ricotta cheese. My family & I loved it and it was very filling.... DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Delicious! Everyone loved it! I was worried about there being too much water, but it was not the case. I followed the recipe exactly, except added mushrooms and subbed ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese. It was a big hit! The prep work was very time consuming, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
5 stars with alterations. 24 oz of spaghetti sauce. Precook noodles. I did 1 package of spinach with 1/2lb ground beef and added to the sauce. I did not saute the spinach. I put this into a 2 quart casserole dish layered 1/4 sauce on bottom. Noodles. 1/2 Cheese. 1/4 sauce. Noodles. 1/2 Cheese. 1/4 sauce. Noodles. 1/4 sauce. Baked 45 mins covered added Italian breadcrumbs then baked uncovered for 10 mins. Cooked to an internal temperature of 155 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Even hardcore carnivores may not notice that this is meatless. Simple recipe, easy to prepare. I made my own marinara sauce rather than buying a jar and it made it even tastier. I usually make 2 batches at once and then freeze the extra one for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Perfect for a Friday in Lent ;) it doesn't taste overly spinachy and you don't even miss the meat. My husband in particular likes this and he's not very vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Best lasagna I've ever had! I used 10 oz of fresh spinach and 10 of frozen broccoli that I cooked with the onion, garlic, and herbs. I also used 2- 26 oz jars of sauce and ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. My husband also agreed that it was the best lasagna he's ever had. We will be making this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Simply heavenly. I make my own pasta sauce for it, using, in addition to the usual diced tomatoes, a small can of Walmart brand "diced tomatoes and jalopenas" for a nick spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WoundedEgo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States