Simple Spinach Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I made this for my picky parents and they really enjoyed it. I made a few alterations: I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and like some others suggested I used one 10 oz. package of spinach and one 10 oz. of broccoli. I also added a can of mushrooms and some shredded carrot and shredded zucchini. Instead of jarred sauce I made homemade with an easy recipe from this website called "Best Marina Sauce Yet." My only complaint is that one 8 oz package of lasagna noodles was not enough if you layer in fours as the recipe called for. I was two noodles short.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This recipe sounded really great, however after reading some of the other reviews I did make some changes...I read a couple reviews that said there was too much sauce, noodles were crispy, had to use a whole box of noodles...So I precooked the noodles (a whole box) and eliminated the water that the recipe called for. I just browned the onions and garlic then mixed in the spinach, spices and a 26 oz. bottle spaghetti sauce. I had a second bottle of sauce on hand. I also added a second egg to the recipe and changed the cottage cheese to ricotta cheese. I put some sauce straight from the bottle in the bottom of the pan then layered noodles, spinach mix, noodles, egg mix, noodles, bottled sauce and added chopped frozen broccoli to this layer. A full box noodles will be enough for a 9"x13" pan with two layers of each filling. Top with more sauce and cheese. Bake 30-45 minutes or until hot in center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
This is the best Lasagna ever!!!!!!!! My husband and I are vegitarians and we love it. We make it about once a week. I use Ricotta cheese and tofu instead of cottage cheese. The tofu has the same texture as the ricotta without the fat. I do about 1 cup each (ricotta and tofu). Just Ricotta also taste great. Also sometimes we add mushrooms to the sauce and it gives some meatiness to the meal. Also sometimes I use fresh spinach and it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This was a hit with my husband AND three-year-old daughter. The only suggestion I would make is to set aside a little bit of plain red sauce (without spinach, et al) for the final layer. The spinach darkens during baking, and I think this non-spinach sauce would make the dish more appealing to the eye. Also, I sprinkled the top with some mozzarella cheese after I removed the foil for the final minutes of baking. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This was delicious! The only thing I changed was substituting ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese like others suggested. Make sure to reserve enough sauce for the very top so that the noodles are covered well, otherwise they might not be as soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
A really nice change for a tasty lasagna - might use only one pkg of spinach next time and substitute other vegetables instead - it had a fairly strong spinach taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Awesome! I have been looking for a spinach lasagna recipe and I have certainly found it. I shredded carrot into the cheese mixture, used oven ready lasagna, skipped the water in the sauce and spinach mixture, and coated the bottom of the lasagna pan with an 8 oz can of tomato sauce. This will be a great recipe to share with company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This is a fabulous lasagna. I followed the recipe exactly and it was just perfect. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to but I squeezed the liquid out of the spinach before sauteeing. I plan to make this recipe quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
This was easy-I made it put it together ahead of time and threw it in the oven for dinner. My toddlers ate it up. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
The best lasagna I've ever made. I love that you don't have to cook the noodles separately! I only used one package of spinach, and I used Bertolli's "Marinara with Burgundy" sauce (which is only 26 oz, but I made up the difference by adding some tomato paste & water). We didn't miss having meat in this. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States