Simple Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I love making my rice with the herbs and seasoning in the cooking liquid. Your addition of cinnamon sticks and a bay leaf is a very clever 'addition' and I like it a lot. The 'cinnamon' stick is a bit more subtle than grated cinnamon and the bay leaf is gently aromatic. The basmati rice is such a flavorful rice to start with, that too much of anything would be overkill. This combo of sweet, pungent combined with the somewhat flowery basmati rice....just is a delightful merging. Lovely recipe and quite enticing to the palate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Simple Spiced Rice Haiku: "Subtle flavor kiss. Nice, delicate basmati. Humble, simple spice." Basmati is of such a light, ethereal taste that it doesn't need to compete with heavy seasonings. But this simple method of preparing it yielded an airy, buttery, lightly-spiced rice that would compliment just about any entree. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
very simple, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Thank you! This recipe was great! I wish I could say I made it exactly to recipe, but didn't have cinnamon sticks on hand, so I sprinkled in just a bit of the powdered variety. It was still great. Went great with my pork steaks with orange sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkayemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
YUM! Very very good. It was fragrant and had a nice flavor. Not strong at all but a mild cinnamon taste. It went perfectly with some Indian style meatballs in an onion raisin sauce. This would be great with many different dishes as a side. It turned out very fluffy indeed. Perfect rice, thanks!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was good but I did have to add some cayenne and ginger because I felt like the rice needed a little something else. I served with chicken tandoori and Greek taziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Absolutely Fabulous Rice! I used Jasmine rice for its nutty flavor and chicken broth for the liquid instead of water. I also added red onion and a garlic & ginger paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
delicious! I also added a few cloves. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
in my humble opinion, you can omit the onion and add a TBSP whole cloves and about 6-8 pods of whole green cardamom, this makes a delightful Indian style spiced basmati rice. Make a "bouquet garni", or a little bulb of spices wrapped in a piece of cheesecloth, for easy removal. Perfect with rich indian dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Nice flavor and went well with grilled fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States