Simple Southwestern Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I tweaked this recipe a bit to my taste. I did not follow the exact measurements. I used 3 breasts, a handful of chopped cilantro and about 3 celery stalks. I didn't have taco seasoning so I added salt, chili powder, cayenne pepper and paprika to taste to the mayo. I also added a dash of tapatio (hot sauce) and a squeeze of lime. It turned out excellent and is hard to stop eating. All the hot spices and tapatio can be adjusted to taste. I highly recommend the squeeze of lime juice. It adds a nice fresh flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci bakopoulos
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Tried this recipe tonight with hubby. We found great use for the pre-measured one lb., frozen (and thawed) bag of leftover Thanksgiving turkey. Divided it up, and, hubby stuck with his Miracle Whip, while I used 'real' mayo. Taco seasoning was McCormicks, which I got at Target SuperStore. They had a spicier version, I believe. Not into spices, but, next time will use the spicier version. Also, one stalk of celery way too much for this household. Instead went to the spice section and got Celery Seed, which did very well, smelling and tasting fresh. Ate on hoagie rolls. Hubby loves this and is a thumbs up recipe in our household. Also, I read the reviews earlier, and, we went easy with the taco seasoning, as several suggested. We used about half bag, and, might use it for a crockpot chuck roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Here you go....taco flavored chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
WOW!!!! Hubby & I love this. Easy, too. Great lunch on wraps or for picnic lunch or appetizer w/celery or crackers. We love to use fresh cilantro in this (I buy it at Super Walmart for 57 cents a bunch) I use precooked chicken strips in it for simplicity. McCormick HOT taco seasoning is good in this too, but be careful how much you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was really good. Didn't add the celery, and didn't use as much taco seasoning, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This recipe was excellent and extremely easy. I used about half of the taco seasoning and less mayo than the recipe called for. I didn't have celery, so I tried a bit of finely chopped red onion. I served it in a flour tortilla with some chips and salsa on the side. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Decent, but not great. I used a full package of taco seasoning and the texture of the mixture was a little grainy. I did not have celery on hand, but the salad was fine. It's a nice twist on the tried and true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was great. I Doubled the recipe and only add one package of taco seasoning mix. This was also great for the next day. I made this as wraps and it was great. I will be passing this around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I used half of a packet of taco seasoning like many others. Instead of only mayo I used some sour cream as well. I added corn and diced red peppers along with green onions and served it on flour tortilla's with cheese, lettuce and tomato. It was yummy and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Very yummy! I left out the celery and used half a package of taco seasoning. I served it with all the fixings of the taco, minus the shell: lettuce, diced tomatoes, salsa, sour cream and topped with cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States