Simple Scratch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I wish that I had read the reviews before I wasted all the ingredients to make this cake. As another one said it took almost an hour to cook. It looks like cornbread and has no taste. Very tough and rubbery. Won't cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I did not care for this cake. It is like eating a sponge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
i used the pan it called for, and had to take some out and put in a little tin foil pan, took closer to an hour to cook, might make muffins with this recipe, not a cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I follow the recipe exactly as written. It was rubbery and difficult to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was good! Just what we were looking for. I was worried about the time but it took exaclty 26 minutes. I was also scared of overflow from other reviews but that didn't happen. I used 1 bunt and two bread pans, perfect! I loved the chewy crust we ate it hot from the oven. maybe be a bit chewier once it cools but we like it warm with a bit of butter, almost like a sweet bread. mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
OMG! Best cake ever! I made it into cupcakes and the family devoured them in minutes - without frosting! Excellent taste and consistency. A new family favorite! Not overly sweet either - despite the amount of "sweet" stuff. Don't let the sour cream or vinegar scare you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Flavor was good but the texture was heavy and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
It says to cook it 20 minutes or so. It took much longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This cake took 50 minutes in a 13x9 pan and cake had a high dome, was very crusty and tough. I bake and decorate a lot of cakes and am always looking for a new cake recipe. This cake was a waste of expensive ingredients. It was a bland and tough cake. I hate to give bad reviews, but I was VERY DISAPPOINTED. I salvaged my efforts and ingredients by cutting off the hard edges, cutting up the cake, sprinkling on some triple sec and layering with pudding to make a palatable dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was the "Very Best Tasting",in a long time,4 familes,loved it and Laughter hit the roof!!! Like someone said,it took about 50-55 minutes,for each pan(and since)there was so much batter,I put it in 3, 9inch pans(almost)run over,but rose above pans-1 inch.So,I had,a 7 1/2 inch,-3 layer cake!! It covered up a plate,and most were sharing with someone else!! "Better cut recipe,in half",wonderful taste,"Very Huge in Appearance"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States