Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
We make these scones every week. Instead of sour cream we use Noosa vanilla, honey or lemon yogurt (depending on what type of scones we make). For Blueberry scones we use dried blueberries 5 oz, lemon zest and lemon yogurt. For Cherry Scones we use dried cherries 5 oz, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and vanilla yogurt. For Raspberry Scones use dried raspberries. Raisin, honey and walnut are delicious, use honey yogurt. We have also made Chocolate Chip Scones. For a glaze, use cream cheese and jam with a little powdered sugar and a little melted butter. Mix all ingredients and drizzle over scones. We make the dough and keep it in the fridge. When we want scones we cut them and bake. They are warm and delicious every morning. ENJOY! We are addicted to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Best ever basic scone recipe! I omit the dried fruit and add 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips instead. Makes an awesome dessert plain or served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Cleary
Photo by AlaskaJulie
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe! Don't over mix though. The scones are light and fluffy. I added almond extract and orange extract along with Cherry Craisins. I brushed the tops with milk and sprinkled raw sugar crystals on top; no need for frosting of any kind. The scones were devoured immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJulie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
First time ever making scones & I used this recipe. Everyone loved them. I won't try any other scone recipe. This is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves to the dry ingredients. Then when I pulled the scones out of the oven, I split them open and filled with fresh cooked apples. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrendaB
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Love these & so does my family! This is a relatively easy recipe. The dough seemed crumbly At first.. I almost added an extra egg.. But refrained and I was glad i did. The more you work the dough it comes together. I replaced the raisins with dried cranberries and added lemon zest.... Will definitely make These again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrendaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
It seems to be important to follow the technique exactly as described, mix by hand. Substitutes in ingredients don't seem to matter that much. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and it turned out really great. Added dried black currants instead of raisins, a bit more fancy. I will absolutely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great tips on this recipe. They turn out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great recipe. I have used orange zest and chunks of chocolate in it. That's A really good dessert scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I really, really enjoyed this recipe! My boyfriend loves the scones and keeps asking me to make more. I didn't change anything in the recipe except the add-ins. The firs time I used raisins and the second time I tried raspberries. This recipe is awesome. I will keep using it-next time I'm adding butterscotch! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States