Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Kristina McDougall
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Made this recipe as shown, but added a diced apple and a teaspoon of cinnamon. Wow. I won't bother trying another recipe. Ever. Fantastic. I didn't use a food processor but cut room temp butter into the dry ingredients with a pastry cutter. They were flakey and not at all dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina McDougall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Everyone loved these! I made two batches; one with almond extract and raisins and the other with chocolate chips. Tried the butter both ways (frozen or not) and the batch with the refrigerated butter came out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Excellent with frozen blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I don't have a food processor, but these are worth the effort. I've made them 3 times, and they are better than anything you can buy. They look beautiful, too. Grating the butter is the most grueling part, but no issues otherwise. Highly recommend the lemon / blueberry version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
It is more cake like rather than a scone. Dough very wet and sticky as written ~ flour everything and still had to reshape once on cookie sheet. Used pampered chef grater for the butter it was not a bad option but I will consider freezing the cylinder next time to keep butter from getting warm and sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I loved this recipe!! My favorite scones have always been the Barnes & Noble Cafe scones and these have a taste very similar to them! I also made these before getting the kids to school, so I'm glad it was quick to make. I did make some small changes. I used light sour cream, substituted the fruit with dried blueberries, and just used refridgerated butter. I'm going to save this recipe for Easter brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keystone Heights, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Delicious!! I also used a food processor; way easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Jane Byle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Great recipe! I used elderberries in place of raisins and plain yogurt in place of sour cream... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Della La-la Bella
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Wow these are yummy :) my first time making scones and they turned out really moist. I used fresh blueberries. I didn't use a food processor like everyone else did. from what I read from other reviews. I have a theory make recipes the way they're supposed to. will recommend these to my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della La-la Bella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
hooked on these! can't eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States