Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Delicious!! I also used a food processor; way easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Jane Byle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Great recipe! I used elderberries in place of raisins and plain yogurt in place of sour cream... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Della La-la Bella
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Wow these are yummy :) my first time making scones and they turned out really moist. I used fresh blueberries. I didn't use a food processor like everyone else did. from what I read from other reviews. I have a theory make recipes the way they're supposed to. will recommend these to my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della La-la Bella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
hooked on these! can't eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made these yesterday. We have a scone place near where I work and I occasionally go there and get one to have with my coffee. They have a chocolate orange scone so when I seen this recipe I thought now I can try and make my own. I followed the recipe except I put chocolate chips in instead of raisins and added approx. 1 tsp orange zest. Well I won't have to go to the scone bakery now as these tasted just as good, if not better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheWolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nr3
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
These scones were delicious and the recipe was very easy to follow.I grated the butter in which was pretty much effortless. The only measurement I changed is that I added 1 cup of raisins rather than the 1/2 cup from the recipe because we like raisins in our household. I set the oven timer to 15 minutes initially then I checked it and they were slightly too moist so I added another minute. Then I switched the oven off completely and let the scones stay in the oven for another minute. I had never made scones before and these exceeded my expectations and were certainly much better than those I would usually purchase. I will definitely be making these again and the variations from the footnotes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Just delicious. My family said these were so much better than my old recipe! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the raisin scone. Everything else just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Made the almond cherry scones, they turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Kao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Can greek yogurt be substituted for sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by helenpress
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
So good - cut butter in (do not use mixer) so the scones remain dense and flakey. I added almond extract and dried cranberries? They were delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States