Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Super! Easy to make. I used dried cranberries & everyone loved them. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I found them absolutely delicious, and I even made them without a food processor. They were not dry or too moist, the only thing I changed was I added equal parts raisins and craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I made this recipe for some friends with one modification: I used a heavy cream-milk-lemon juice mixture to substitute for sour cream, because I did not have any on-hand. I divided the batter in half, reulting in two batches: orange-chocolate chip and strawberries and cream scones. For the strawberries and cream version, I used food-processor-minced frozen strawberries. Because the strawberries were frozen, the yielded scones were more moist (something like a scone-cake hybrid), which I topped with a milk-powdered sugar glaze drizzle. The orange-chocolate chip scones (made with orange zest) maintained the typical consistency and texture of a scone (i.e. slightly dry), which would go well with tea. All in all, they came out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I add the zest of one lemon to the sour cream mixture and use frozen blueberries as my fruit. I cook the round for most of the time and then cut it into triangles and continue cooking so that it is moist and the middle gets cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kittycormier
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I love these! The only thing I change is adding a little bit of cinnamon and a few more raisins. They always come out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I used the zest from a whole orange and lots of Craisins- turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yangyangpan
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I used dried cranberry to make the scones. The turn out was great, crunchy on the onside and moist inside. The only challenge I had was to grate the butter in this summer weather. butter melts too fast, making it hard to grasp and grate. in the end I simply used a fork to cut small pieces of butter into the mixture, and followed it with hand mix. I like the simplicity of this recipe. I will try tune the taste with other mixtures (onion & salt, nuts etc) later. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Loved these! I made them in my food processor, and then added blueberries instead of raisins. I finished them with a drizzle of powdered sugar glaze. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Easy and wonderful. I do this in the food processor and it turns out perfectly every time. Don't add too much liquid (I tried adding some orange juice - about 3 tablespoons- and it made it too moist to flatten and cut into triangles. I just added a bit more flour and made drop scones and they were very tasty, but not as light as the original recipe.) After I cut the triangles I mix a bit of flour and sugar together and coat the edges of the scone before baking, makes a nice crunchy sweet "crust." Fantastic recipe!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Absolutely delicious. Added chocolate chips to one batch and raisins and cinnamon to second batch. Works really well in the food processor. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States