Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
First time ever making scones & I used this recipe. Everyone loved them. I won't try any other scone recipe. This is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves to the dry ingredients. Then when I pulled the scones out of the oven, I split them open and filled with fresh cooked apples. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrendaB
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Love these & so does my family! This is a relatively easy recipe. The dough seemed crumbly At first.. I almost added an extra egg.. But refrained and I was glad i did. The more you work the dough it comes together. I replaced the raisins with dried cranberries and added lemon zest.... Will definitely make These again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrendaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
It seems to be important to follow the technique exactly as described, mix by hand. Substitutes in ingredients don't seem to matter that much. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and it turned out really great. Added dried black currants instead of raisins, a bit more fancy. I will absolutely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great tips on this recipe. They turn out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great recipe. I have used orange zest and chunks of chocolate in it. That's A really good dessert scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I really, really enjoyed this recipe! My boyfriend loves the scones and keeps asking me to make more. I didn't change anything in the recipe except the add-ins. The firs time I used raisins and the second time I tried raspberries. This recipe is awesome. I will keep using it-next time I'm adding butterscotch! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Wonderful and easy. My husband ate 3. I substituted dried cherries for the raisins. Did not use almond extract. I will make these for company next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mo
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These are quite good. I eschewed both the cheese grater AND the food processor and instead used a pastry cutter to cut the cold butter pieces into the flour mixture. Quick, easy to do this way. I added chocolate chips (instead of raisins) for my husband, who loves chocolate chip scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spenney
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
First time making scones. I used refrigerated salted butter (was all I had at the moment) and I used 1/2 sugar instead and added raspberries and white chocolate. They were absolutely yummy! They were gone within hours of making them. I'm making more today, ham and cheddar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spenney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States