Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My first try at making scones, and it went great! I used the beckygentile variation because I had chocolate chips, and more sour cream and sugar sounded good to me! I doubled the batch and just used a whole bag of regular chips instead of minis. I didn't need to flour the surface I put the dough on, and actually had a little pile of flour left over in the bowl, so I'll probably do scant cups next time. The texture was amazing with the extra sour cream and I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
this is the best scone recipe Ive found. Next time I will double it so the scones come out a little larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Dan's new favorite scone recipe! He likes it even better than the grandma's scone recipe. I think it is a bit less cakey and less sweet. I like both scone recipes. We added raisins to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I was hungry for a scone for breakfast today. I don't normally have sour cream on hand, so I replaced the 1/2 cup sour cream with 1/2 cup 2% milk and they came out Grrreat!!! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
these are so amazing! if i could give them more stars I would. I make the recipe exactly as is and they turn out perfectly every time. I usually make it just with raisins but i tried the cranberry orange flavour and it still was delicious! i can't wait to try other combinations with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made the orange/cranberry version this morning. They were delicious; slightly moist, light and flakey. I did add a little vanilla and some additional orange juice to the sour cream/egg mixture to total 3/4 cup of wet ingredients. I made a glaze of melted butter, orange juice and powdered sugar to spread on top. Husband just loved them. Can't go wrong with a Pam Anderson recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Excellent recipe. Basic that can be altered for different events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Everyone loves these. I make the cherry almond. The only minor change I have made is, I simmer the dried fruit with a little water and sugar (I never measure) then drain the fruit and let the outside dry a bit. They are more like fresh fruit then in the scones. Also, I used 3/4 tsp almost extract. They turn out perfect. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Thanks for such an easy recipe! My cranberry (Craisin) scones will happen again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
They are quick and easy to make: my recommendation is to chop up the butter, then cut it in with a pastry blender rather than a fork (I suppose the recipe's silliness on grating frozen butter is what made those before me turn to food processors!) I substituted Greek yogurt for sour cream (same taste and texture, but so much healthier), and used frozen wild blueberries instead of raisins, and they are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States