Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I substituted chocolate chips for the raisins. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Made the blueberry lemon recipe and it was very simple and very yummy!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
They were very tasty!! It was my first time making scones. I used dark chelate chips in a few and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Fantastic! Followed recipe exactly (only changed raisins to crasins;-) Kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
We added 1 tsp of cinnamon. Nice and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is the best recipe I discovered in 2013. Easy to make, even without a food processor to grate the butter. I also found that I could make the dough ahead and refrigerate it (sealed tightly to so it didn't dry out) and bake it a little longer without compromising the quality. Everyone who tried it loved that it was more moist than traditional scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
best scones i've had! i added a tablespoon more sour cream, along with some golden raisins and craisins (also cold butter, cut in with a pastry cutter...didn't have frozen butter). took a few minutes longer to bake than stated in the recipe (about 22 minutes for my oven), but they were moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Fantastic! For those who do not have large food processors: I cut my butter into little slices/pats before freezing. Next day, mixed my dry ingredients in my stand mixer; diced my frozen butter (honestly takes less than 2 min; it doesn't need to be perfect but just small bits of butter) with a knife and slowly mixed it into the dry. Used my hand to squeeze it together a bit more and followed the rest of the recipe as is. Not too much clean up and I added cranberries and orange zest and they were wonderful - not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Had no problem making these by hand. I increased the baking soda to 1/2t. I've used the basic recipe and added 2t of cinnamon and mini cinnamon chips, dried blueberries, orange zest and dried cranberries, and lemon zest and poppy seeds. It's amazingly versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This would be a 5 star but the cooking time seems to off and my first batch overcooked. Decrease to 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States