Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
perfect everytime! and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Freezing the butter ahead of time then grating it into the flour mixture makes these scones to die for! I've tried a few different fruit substitutions, including chopped dried dates. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I love love love love this recipe. It's so adaptable! Don't have sour cream? I've used vanilla yogurt. Don't have eggs? I've used EggBeaters. Don't like raisins? I have made so many combinations by now! My favorites are white chocolate apricot (substitute dried apricots for raisins and then once they are baked, melt white chocolate and smear it on them!!) and cinnamon brown sugar (leave the raisins out, but add a healthy sprinkling of cinnamon to the dry ingredients and then before you put them in the oven, sprinkle with more cinnamon, brown sugar, and regular sugar) YUMMMM! But... caution. Icing is a must on all scones in my opinion. Just mix together some powdered sugar and water and drizzle it on them after they bake with a spoon. It will take a little while to dry, but it's so worth it. Sometimes I just eat them before it dries lol. I use the food processor method. SO EASY. Pulse dry ingredients. Cut up your butter into half tablespoon size and pulse it in there several times. Add in your fixins and pulse that. Then add in the wet ingredients (no need to pre-mix them) and pulse that until it looks like a solid mass of dough! SO VERY EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Great recipe! I made them with frozen raspberries and they are delicious! Also, rather than pressing out the dough and cutting it, i used a muffin tin and divided the dough among the 12 cups (unlined). So fast and easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Um fadlullah
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Great recipe. I put choc chips in half the dough and dried cranberries in the other. I didn't have sour cream, so I added vinegar to my milk . I also brushed the dough with milk before I sprinkled with sugar. Mine were done at 13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I have made these scones over and over using various dried fruits or fresh berries. A British friend of mine wanted to know how I learned to make scones better than hers. This is an excellent and easy recipe. Everyone who has eaten them loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Excellent recipe! I used my kitchenaid to mix in the butter, and it worked perfectly. Scones were light and cakey inside, and flaky on the outside. My son said these scones were as good as any he has made (and he's a professional chef!) Recipe worked great, it may have been a dry day as I had to add a couple tablespoons of milk to the mixture to hold together. Otherwise, this recipe is easy and product is delicious - a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Fabulous and easy! I always use dried cranberries and get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
made these once and can't wait to make them again! They are so incredibly tasty and moist and extremely versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKY7575

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Philgirl74
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
The whole family love this scone very much...I've made this many times already...Thanks for this wonderful recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States