Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
i did not have any thing like raisons or almonds or choc chip at home, so i put a couple of oreo cookies crushed into the dough!! came out real good! I even substituted sour cream with thick curds! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I think these are not scones...more like a cakey cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
These were great! I made these in my Ninja blender. I put in the dry ingredients first and pulsed a few times to combine, then I added chopped refrigerated butter, pulsed some more. Then added the sour cream and egg and some lemon zest. I made my dough round on a pizza pan then pressed frozen blueberries into the top of the round. Used a pizza cutter to cut triangles into the round just before adding to the oven. I baked them about 19 minutes (a couple more than recipe calls for), then cut them again with the pizza cutter. The hardest part of this recipe was waiting for them to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These are so good. I made cranberry/orange. I cut my butter into 1 tbsp chunks (didn't take time to freeze the butter) and put in the food processor with the dry ingredients (including whole dried cranberries) and pulsed until coarse crumbs, then added the sour cream, orange peel and egg and pulsed again until dough formed a ball. What a breeze, no fuss, no mess, no nicking my knuckles on the grater. They came out light, moist and full of flavor. I will definitely make these again, maybe for Easter morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I have a Salad Shooter and I used the grater attachment to shred up the butter. After that crumbling the butter into the recipe was a breeze. Also I substituted chocolate chips for the raisins since my kids won't eat them. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was fabulous. I made this in my kitchenaid, once using softened butter to see if I could eliminate the grating and I still had fabulous results! Mixed dry ingredients in the bowl, added the softened butter and on low until crumbly, then added the fruit, then wet ingredients. This was delicious with dried cranberries and some orange zest and a squirt of the juice. A nice crumbly scones texture, but not overly dry. I am making them again next weekend for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Excellent! Followed the directions (including grating the butter). I sifted dry ingredients before adding butter. I also added frozen blueberries and walnuts. SUPER EASY and DELICIOUS recipe, thank you! Grating the butter was not difficult, took maybe 5-7 min. It was worth it in my opinion. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Wow, my first attempt at scones and I'll be making them again soon. My food processor is too small so I did mine the "old fashioned" way by cutting in cold butter with a pastry blender. Worked like a charm! Our favorite bakery sells cherry & white chocolate scones so that's what I made and I may never buy them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made these once before and they didn't turn out. I just made them again, and oh my. They are delicious! I followed the basic recipe, substituting plain Greek yoghurt for the sour cream. Right before forming it into a ball in the bowl, I added 1/2 c. frozen blueberries and 1/2 c. slivered almonds. Baked as directed, then let cool. I drizzled melted chocolate mixed with orange flavor on top. Half of them received semi-sweet. The other half received white chocolate. Delicious with my cup of Earl Grey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleeaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rantoul, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
excellent, easy to make, simple to change for different fruits etc... made a great cranberry orange by adding cranberries and orange zest...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States