Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
THESE ARE GOOD!MINE TURNED OUT A BIT CAKEY BUT VERY VERY MOIST! I ADDED A TSP OF ALMOND EXTRACT,DRIED CHERRIES AND SPRINKLES SOME SLICED ALMOND OVER THE TOP BEFORE BAKING! I MIGHT TRY A DIFFERENT RECIPE JUST TO COMPARE THE TEXTURE OVERALL A GOOD RECIPE....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Amazing scone recipe! My first time making it and I followed the recipe to the tee, except I used blueberries instead of raisins. I'm not typically a big baker, but I took other peoples' advice to use the food processor and they were right- it made a huge difference. Especially after you grate the butter, it did a nice job of mixing everything together well. Everything was perfectly blended in seconds, with just a few pulses. Delicious scones. Thx for all the tips! Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Incredible! These scones are moist have a wonderful buttery flavor. I have made this recipe at least 20-30 times, most of them by request from people who I've made it for before. It has gotten rave reviews every single time. In place of using a box grater for the butter, I cut butter straight from the refrigerator into the flour mix with a pastry knife. I don't find it to be too much work at all. Cranberry with orange zest is one of my favorites, but I can't wait to experiment more and more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My first try at making scones, and it went great! I used the beckygentile variation because I had chocolate chips, and more sour cream and sugar sounded good to me! I doubled the batch and just used a whole bag of regular chips instead of minis. I didn't need to flour the surface I put the dough on, and actually had a little pile of flour left over in the bowl, so I'll probably do scant cups next time. The texture was amazing with the extra sour cream and I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
this is the best scone recipe Ive found. Next time I will double it so the scones come out a little larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Dan's new favorite scone recipe! He likes it even better than the grandma's scone recipe. I think it is a bit less cakey and less sweet. I like both scone recipes. We added raisins to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I was hungry for a scone for breakfast today. I don't normally have sour cream on hand, so I replaced the 1/2 cup sour cream with 1/2 cup 2% milk and they came out Grrreat!!! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
these are so amazing! if i could give them more stars I would. I make the recipe exactly as is and they turn out perfectly every time. I usually make it just with raisins but i tried the cranberry orange flavour and it still was delicious! i can't wait to try other combinations with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made the orange/cranberry version this morning. They were delicious; slightly moist, light and flakey. I did add a little vanilla and some additional orange juice to the sour cream/egg mixture to total 3/4 cup of wet ingredients. I made a glaze of melted butter, orange juice and powdered sugar to spread on top. Husband just loved them. Can't go wrong with a Pam Anderson recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Excellent recipe. Basic that can be altered for different events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States