Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Oh my goodness - are these ever good!! Easy, peasy - I did not use a food processor just a good old-fashion bowl and fork. Why dirty all those parts on a food processor, right?? No need, these stirred up in just a couple of quick minutes and the only things I changed was my butter wasn't frozen, subbed plain Greek yogurt as I was out of sour cream AND I had to add 5 mins to the bake time to get them golden. Despite all of that, these were excellent, great flavor and soft crumb with that crunchy, sugared top. This is a recipe I have been searching for, for a very long time and it's a keeper!! I will be making these again. PS: Some of the reviews (no way could I read them all) mentioned the milk(s) they used? There are no liquids in this recipe but they still come together quite nicely. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
These are soooo good!!! I used the food processor as well- unbelievably easy and delicious :) also used fresh raspberries and made a lemon icing! Yummmmyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This recipe worked great. I used a food processor as recommended, omitted the raisins, and added 1/4 tsp of Almond extract. They tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I LOVE THE TASTE OF IT WHEN I ADD MY FAV FRUITS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe three times since I found it a few weeks ago. I've been looking for a great scone recipe for years and this one is it! It's perfect. I think I'll go make a batch now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. I have been making it for years as written with almond extract and cranberries instead of raisins. When I went to make the last batch I realized I was out of sour cream so I substituted vanilla greek yogurt and the recipe still turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is a brilliant recipe! I replaced one of the cups of flour with ground almonds and used maraschino cherries instead of raisins.... totally delish, although they didnt hold there shape brilliantly...I think they were of a slightly wetter consistency than is the norm for scones, maybe I should have used one and a half cups of flour and half a cup of ground almonds??? I cut it into triangles, which you could still tell when they were finished but if I had have used a round cookie cutter I think they would have looked very messy! I will make these again but in a bigger batch next time. Thanks for this excellent and very easy recipe:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
These are awesome scones! Just the right texture for a scone, NOT a muffin-scone, or whatever one calls a scone that tastes like a muffin. And you do NOT need a food processor to make them! I have made them now a dozen different ways, all good. I do substitute Greek yogurt for the sour cream and Splenda for the sugar. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I loved these. I used them for a party and had a few left over and the next day they were as good as the first day. I liked the crunch, sweetness and saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
One of the best scone recipes I've used. I had to sub buttermilk for the sour cream, and I just cut in cold butter rather than grating frozen. Still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States