Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is perfect for basic scones. They come out light and soft and not too dry, and it would be a great base for either savory (cheese, bacon, and green onion would be really yummy) or sweet (with the addition of vanilla and/or almond extract). The only things I changed were chocolate chips instead of raisins, patting out instead of rolling out, and I forgot to sprinkle sugar on top before baking. But very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozamanthus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Tried this recipe today and it turned out great. Made a few modifications, instead of sugar I used maple crunches , also added one teaspoon of lemon extract to the egg sour cream mixture. What a great compliment to the raisins. Also, added a little lemon extract to the powdered sugar and milk, for the icing. Fun to make...I will definitely use this recipe again. Kallie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This recipe it's fantastic! I did not have any problems using cold butter and a metal pastry blender, as I do not have a food processor. I have now made these in many different variations...dried fruit, frozen fruit...it's all delicious! So easy and they are eaten up within hours! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann K
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I doubled up the recipe for my High Tea. I did increase the baking powder to 3 tsp and the bicarb to 1 tsp (my rule of thumb is 1 tsp of leavening agent per cup of flour). When I mixed the sour cream/eggs into the flour/butter, it was way too dry, so I added about 1/2 milk little by little until my dough was coming together and a bit sticky. The doubled up quantity yielded 32 2" diameter scones, which I brushed with an egg yolk mixed with 1 Tsp milk before baking. The taste and texture are wonderful!!! Maybe next time I will reduce the sugar a bit though but that's my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
We make these scones every week. Instead of sour cream we use Noosa vanilla, honey or lemon yogurt (depending on what type of scones we make). For Blueberry scones we use dried blueberries 5 oz, lemon zest and lemon yogurt. For Cherry Scones we use dried cherries 5 oz, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and vanilla yogurt. For Raspberry Scones use dried raspberries. Raisin, honey and walnut are delicious, use honey yogurt. We have also made Chocolate Chip Scones. For a glaze, use cream cheese and jam with a little powdered sugar and a little melted butter. Mix all ingredients and drizzle over scones. We make the dough and keep it in the fridge. When we want scones we cut them and bake. They are warm and delicious every morning. ENJOY! We are addicted to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Best ever basic scone recipe! I omit the dried fruit and add 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips instead. Makes an awesome dessert plain or served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Cleary
Photo by AlaskaJulie
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe! Don't over mix though. The scones are light and fluffy. I added almond extract and orange extract along with Cherry Craisins. I brushed the tops with milk and sprinkled raw sugar crystals on top; no need for frosting of any kind. The scones were devoured immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJulie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
First time ever making scones & I used this recipe. Everyone loved them. I won't try any other scone recipe. This is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves to the dry ingredients. Then when I pulled the scones out of the oven, I split them open and filled with fresh cooked apples. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrendaB
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Love these & so does my family! This is a relatively easy recipe. The dough seemed crumbly At first.. I almost added an extra egg.. But refrained and I was glad i did. The more you work the dough it comes together. I replaced the raisins with dried cranberries and added lemon zest.... Will definitely make These again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrendaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States