Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
THIS IS A GREAT AND TOTALY EASY RECIPE. IF YOUR SCARED TO TRY SCONES, DO NOT BE. IT IS SO EASY IT WILL MAKE YOU WONDER WHY. TRY IT YOU WILL LOVE IT. SKIPER, ST. PETE FLA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Thank you very much!! I've had many wonderful compliments from students, parents, co-workers, family and friends. This recipe allows for substitution easily: I used Splenda instead of sugar and blue berries instead of raisins for my second batch. I made a batch of holiday cut out scones for my mom's co-workers and they all complimented "her daughter baking skills". She was so proud!! Every one has asked for the recipe. I've been sending them all to allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GrannyDestructo
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I didn't have any sour cream so I used the same amount of unsweetened Greek yogurt, through a cheese cloth for about 40 minutes. I also used about 1/4 cup of whole wheat to make myself believe they are a little more healthy. These babies are so freaking tasty, I'm glad the recipe is only eight scones, or I'd eat 20 in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Have used this recipe for a while now and never used a processor. It comes out great all the time. Pretty easy to make and my scones are a huge hit with all my friends. No additions ,no substitutions at all. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meena
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Tastes amazing. And made shapes for the kids too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Excellent basic scone recipe. It was my first time making scones but they came out really well and my family loved them. I used cold salted butter so i ommited the salt and used coconut milk instead of sour cream. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Love it. Took less than 10 mins in prep time and they came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Followed the tips of others and made this recipe in the food processor. These scones are delicious! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I make these all the time! My office staff loves them. Easiest recipe ever! I use blueberries instead of currents. They come out so moist and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Just out of the over the cranberry and lemon scones. I put a little extra sugar in and used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. I also brushed the top with buttermilk that I had and sprinkled the with sugar before they went into the oven. Also I soaked the fruit in hot water first to plump it up and drained.Had to use a little extra flour then as it was too moist. I cooked it at 350 for about 18 mins. Very delicious!!! I have others in the oven that I followed the recipe a little more closely but did use buttermilk instead of the sour cream. I'll let you know how that is. Kids love them... with butter of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States