Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
it was one of a kind.My family loved it and it is so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bulawayo, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mario'sWife
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These scones were delicious, but they were a little cookie-ish to me. I baked mines without raisins, and instead blended up some strawberries in the batter. Strawberry scones are nice, give it more of a breakfast taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mario'sWife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Excellent! I made a much larger quantity which I divided up and froze for quick use. I also used a little more sour cream and no eggs. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This recipe is so easy and makes a great base for other flavors as well. I have made cheese scones and blueberry scones with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzy
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
What a simple recipe for scones! The scones turned out very delicious my whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Made the cranberry/orange version, aside from not being able to zest my orange on a cheese grater, this was wonderful. I managed to get about 1/4 of the orange zested with a vegetable peeler, minced the peel with a knife, and then added it to the mix. I then juiced the orange, added a couple of teaspoons of sugar to the juice, and then drizzled that over the scones. I had no idea scones were this easy. Many commercial scones are far too sweet, these were just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
We really liked the cranberry-orange scones. They were great! I used the food processor and it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefnan
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I make this recipe all the time. I alternate between using creme fraiche for the sour cream. I love the richness it adds. Also I change raisins for other things often balancing liquids for fruits. They are always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefnan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was my first time making scones and it was much easier than I expected. I used frozen cherries that I pitted the night before and 1/2 tsp of almond extract. I will definitely use this recipe over and over again. Can't wait to try more variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
These were okay. I have only made a couple of other types of scones in my life and they were way more flaky like and rich tasting. These were more like a slightly cakey overly-sweet biscuit. The tops of them appeared more bumpy than smooth to for some reason. I suppose, because of the stickiness of the dough. I think heavy cream, instead of sour cream, is the only way to go with scones. Only change I made was using golden raisins instead of regular. I just like their flavor lately. For some reason mine darkened on the bottom rather quickly despite baking on parchment. They went from underdone to overdone, on the bottom, in only about 2 minutes time. Towards the end I would keep an eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States