Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I've used tons of recipes for scones over the years since scones are one of my favorite things. I was actually looking for one similar to a recipe I lost but came across these.... These happen to be my new favorite recipe. It's the sour cream that makes it I think. I decided on a cranberry almond variaton when I made them. Add 1tsp almond extract, and crasins instead of raisins. Soooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
One word. Heaven!! The recipe is easy and quick with fantastic results. Sweet, light and flaky. I'm amazed and I couldn't be happier that I tried this one. We ate ours with Raspberry Curd and Lemon Curd. I also left out the raisins. Better then our local tea room. Now all I have to figure out is how to make some tea punch/british punch. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This is the best scone recipes! I have tried many different recipes. Very moist & flaky. I made the lemon-blueberry & the almond-cherry & plain. I also made lemon curd to top them. (I used the perfect lemon curd recipe on Allrecipes.) Also very good with rasberry jam & lemon curd on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Delicious recipe - I just recommend adding a bit more of the orange rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I'm not a "cook" but this recipe grabbed my attention. They were easy to prepare and modify (I made cranberry almond scones). I don't even like to cook but these were fabulous!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
These are so good, and extremely versatile. I added dried cranberries and white chocolate chips, and they were fabulous! Will make these again & again. 12/29/08 addition--these are also fantastic with dried cherries and lime zest & chocolate chips and orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This recipe is so easy to prepare and tastes delicious. The scones were the absolute rave at a babyshower/teaparty we had for our cousin. Cannot recommend them highly enough. Why buy scones when these are so great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This recipe is excellent. I prepared the scones with dried cranberries, but had no oranges on hand so I left the zest out. I used fat free sour cream and followed the advice of other reviewers and mixed it in the blender. A quick way to a delicious breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
very easy recipe, very delicious, taste just like the ones I have tried at a local tearoom, very light, buttery, rich taste. I served them with cream and blueberry and strawberry jam. Delish!! I did not have unsalted butter, but just used salted butter and left out the salt, very easy! I did not use the raisins either, tasted good just plain with the fruit jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
So simple (like the title) and SO yummy. I made the cranberry orange version...perfection. For that chocolate fix, I added about 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips too...and about a tsp. of the juice from the orange I zested. Try it-- you'll love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senushi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States