Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Great recipe and easy to alter, if needed. And boy, did I need to! I altered the recipe to include using leftover Cherry pie filling. Left out the sour cream and the raisins. Did everything else as was called for. Was very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Forks, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Wonderful easy recipe. I did it all in my Ninja and it turned out amazing a little fluffier than I like but my bff Loved them. Now to tweek it with other lovely add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookforme2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I hosted a Mothers Day Tea this Mother's Day and I couldn't find scones in our local bakery, I built up the courage and attempted this recipe! I wasn't sure if my family would approve, but one of my brothers who "Hates Scones!" Absolutely loved them,as did the rest of the family. I see that others used their food processor to mix it, I thought it was a piece of cake, and that's coming from a NON BAKERY! Haha, I followed the recipe, and added cinnamon to the remaining sugar and sprinkled it on top and added white chocolate chips. I will definitely be making more in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Seriously the best scones I ever had and super easy to make! I took the advice of other reviewers and used a food processor for the butter. Mine is small, so I only put in a cup of flour in the food processor and used it to chop up the butter, then I mixed everything into a big bowl with the remaining flour. I used dried cherries and vanilla extract. I did not think it would form a ball of dough, but be patient and keep working it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Gniazdowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Of all of the recipes that I have tried from allrecipes over the years, this is our very favorite. When prepared as written, it delivers foolproof, wonderful, flakey scones. Every time I make them, my husband gets a dreamy look in his eye and says that I should open a bakery. Now that I've been making them so regularly, I use the base to make my own variations, such as lemon poppyseed. For the reviewers who say that this recipe is labor intensive, I feel just the opposite. I am able to hop out of bed, throw the ingredients in a bowl, mix by hand just a little and have a hot homemade breakfast for my family so quickly. I LOVE these scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
First time making scones and with over 1000 reviews and 5 stars, I'm glad I chose this recipe! I used my kitchenaid stand mixer like others. I combined dry ingredients, added frozen cubed butter, but I'm sure refrigerated cubed would work just fine and put mixer on medium until I had small pea sized butter chunks. Added blue berries instead of raisins and mixed wet ingredients plus 1 tsp of vanilla like some others. Turned the mixer on some more and once it was mixed, pat out onto wax paper and followed recipe. I LOVE super sweet baked goods. These are not very sweet, but with the blueberries, it was still great. With less sweetness, my husband commented that one was able to taste the dough without being over powered by sugar. I agree. This is my first scone recipe and probably the last one I will ever use. This is going in the cook book tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I doubled the sour cream and they were deeeeeeeeeliciousss!!! They are also good with chocolate chips instead of raisons and also try cutting one into 2 halves and toasting and then sprinkling cinnamon sugar on top. They are really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Simple and delicious. Mixed in chopped dried strawberries at the end into the dough. Didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is the BEST scone recipe I have EVER tried! I have made these scones many times and they always turn out perfect! If I am making these for a party, I like to spilt the batch in to two balls and make 16 mini scones. I never sprinkle them with sugar, but I do like to make Devonshire cream to go on them. It is Heavenly! I also like to try different mix-ins. The suggested variations are great, but my favorite is mixing in mini chocolate chips! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by burntsugar
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I just finished making these, substituting dried cherries for the currants. They were dense like you'd expect a scone to be, yet light and buttery. I did sift my ingredients, so I'm not sure if that had any effect on my batch. They were so easy and quick to make up, and I'm sure they'd impress guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States