Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was super easy! Very yummy and perfect with the Easy Clotted Cream. I did leave out the raisins as I am not a big fan of them in baked goods...I think I will substitute blueberries my next batch. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe! I stuffed with syrup and topped with icing sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
We loved them, and they are easy and fun to make. My 86 year old mum loves them with her afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
It was simple to make and it tasted wonderful with a cup of Tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe and used light cream instead of sour cream and it was great. I've also used craisins instead of currants (delicious) and once omitted them and just added the zest from an orange which was just as good (I've done it with lemon zest as well when I replaced the currants). Great basic recipe that is adaptable and easy. I also used my food processor which took half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
First introduced to scones by my mother -n-law :) I followed the recipe and they are grrrreat! I did use a little mare sugar that recipe called for. Did not use a food processor, not necessary. Will experiment with different add-ons in the future. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I substituted a 1/3 C. whole wheat flour and used strawberry yogurt instead of sour cream. SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
We love these, we do not have a food processor and did not feel they were too much work, The first time we added orange zest and choc. chips, those tasted much better cold. So many ways to try them today its orange zest and cherry craisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was OK. I'm going to change it up next time using Tyler Florence's scone recipe from Food Network. I'm going to drop the egg and the sour cream and use 1 cup of heavy cream instead. The texture will be less cakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is perfect for basic scones. They come out light and soft and not too dry, and it would be a great base for either savory (cheese, bacon, and green onion would be really yummy) or sweet (with the addition of vanilla and/or almond extract). The only things I changed were chocolate chips instead of raisins, patting out instead of rolling out, and I forgot to sprinkle sugar on top before baking. But very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozamanthus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States